Can I get variable data to overwrite a line?

Sure, you can do something like this, if you name the text frame:

var content = Field("Name");
var font = "Arial Unicode MS";
var pointSize = 18;
var frameName = "Title";
var line = "___________________";
return CopyfitLine(content, line, font, pointSize, FindTextFrame(frameName).GetSettableTextWidth() / 100.0, 2, true);

Please forgive me, I'm new to this. How do I 'name the text frame', and where would I do that?

I wrote:

var content = Field("D.O.B.");

var font = "ITCAvant Garde Std XLt Cn";

var pointSize = 8;

var frameName = "RecipientDOB";

var line = "________________";

return Copyfitline(content, line, font, poinSize, FindTextFram(frameName) .GetSettableTextWidth() / 100.0, 2, true;

It comes back with an error 'FrameName is not defined.'

Please forgive me, I'm new to this. How do I 'name the text frame', and where would I do that?

On the Text Frame Properties palette, at the top, above the "Edit Text" button.

I wrote:

var font = "ITCAvant Garde Std XLt Cn";

var pointSize = 8;

var frameName = "RecipientDOB";

var line = "________________";

return Copyfitline(content, line, font, poinSize, FindTextFram(frameName) .GetSettableTextWidth() / 100.0, 2, true;

It comes back with an error 'FrameName is not defined.'

Is that the code copied verbatim from your Rule Editor dialog? You seem to have missed some characters. On the last line, "FindTextFram" should be "FindTextFrame" (with the "e" at the end, and without quotes). Also, make sure you use the same case in your variable names throughout: if you declare a variable "frameName", you have to refer to it with the exact same name, and the same case, not as "FrameName".

Ok. Success. Fixed the Frame name and get the appropriate data. However, I still am left with my original issue. I need the end of the line to be in the same place, no matter what the variable text is. IE

Recipient D.O.B: __________________.

Recipient Maiden Name: ____________.