Looking for a way to cut & paste in the variable text editior

kmailinginc

I am a novice at Fusion Pro. I've run lots of simple jobs with pdfs as backgrounds.

I am looking for a way to cut & paste copy into the text editor to avoid retyping customer text. I set up a copy block in the variable text editor and have variable data fields merged in static copy within the block.

Is there a way to avoid typing the static copy into the editor ?

Thanks in advance.

I'm working with a simple letter with letterhead & graphics in a pdf with blocks of copy set up in the variable text editor. Nothing fancy. I just am looking to see if there is a way to avoid typing in the copy in a block of text in the variable text editor. The cut and paste feature available in most other programs doesn't work in the editor.

Maybe there is a better way to set up the job. The customer provides me with a pdf of the letter. I use a pdf editor to delete any paragraphs of copy that have data fields merging into copy. I then set up a text block in the variable text editor and re-type the letter copy, add the fields from the database where needed. I set up the address block, barcode etc. No problems -it works... I just have to retype the text I've deleted from the pdf, into the variable text editor. My typing and proofing skills are not great so I'm trying to avoid possible typos.

My typing and proofing skills are not great so I'm trying to avoid possible typos.

VARIABLE in the body paragraphs of the letter and is in different areas of each new letter, I just don't see an option to automate.

Can the client supply the raw file as well to you so you could copy the text that you need out and then paste into your variable/body paragraph? Eliminating the "typing" is probably the first thing to do.

I think what he is saying, and what I have experienced, is that copy and paste works like crap in the text editor, at least in the Mac version.