Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Support > Issues, Questions, Etc.

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 12th, 2019, 02:08 PM
JedGodsey JedGodsey is offline
Forum n00b
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2
Default Imposed output doesn't recognize data

I'm running a pretty straight-forward mailing 1-up and outputting to PDF and it works fine, but when I run it again with my imposition definition FP no longer recognizes my data. "value for variable First Name not found in instance data", etc. If I run it single up again, the job runs fine again. Happens with multiple kinds of impositions.

I also tried with vps and got the same results. Is this me screwing up or the software?

--Jed--
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 16th, 2019, 03:07 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,293
Default Re: Imposed output doesn't recognize data

If you call up your mechanic and tell him your car is making a funny noise, I would be very surprised if he or she could diagnose the problem without looking at the car.

Please post the collected template, or better yet, a minimal example which reproduces the problem.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 17th, 2019, 10:16 AM
JedGodsey JedGodsey is offline
Forum n00b
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2
Default Re: Imposed output doesn't recognize data

Dan, thanks for your reply. Given the severity of the problem I figured it might just be some common mistake I was making. I'm attaching everything I think could be relevant to this issue.

I'm running FP 7.2 on Acrobat 9 on Windows 10. Let me know if there's any other info i can provide.
Attached Files
File Type: zip fusion issue.zip (3.00 MB, 4 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 17th, 2019, 12:08 PM
dreimer dreimer is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Shakopee, MN
Posts: 464
Default Re: Imposed output doesn't recognize data

I tested your files and I have no issue running the 1-up or the imposed.
__________________
Don Reimer - JavaScript Novice

MAC OS 10.12.5 Acrobat XI 11.0.0 FP Creator 10.0.16
Windows 7 Acrobat X 10.1.4 FP Creator 9.3.9
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 17th, 2019, 05:12 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,293
Default Re: Imposed output doesn't recognize data

Quote:
Originally Posted by JedGodsey View Post
Dan, thanks for your reply. Given the severity of the problem I figured it might just be some common mistake I was making. I'm attaching everything I think could be relevant to this issue.
Thanks. The job composes fine for me too.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JedGodsey View Post
I'm running FP 7.2 on Acrobat 9 on Windows 10. Let me know if there's any other info i can provide.
Frankly, the most obvious mistake you're making is that you're running a very old version of FusionPro. That version 7.2 is from 2011, and technically isn't supported on Windows 10, which it predates by four years. And Acrobat 9 hasn't been supported by Adobe since 2013. I'm a bit surprised that Acrobat 9 even runs at all, let alone with FusionPro.

There have been a ton of fixes to FusionPro in general, and the imposition system in particular, in the last 8 years or so since FusionPro 7.2.

To continue my analogy, you have brought your car into the shop, but the mechanic is now looking at your 1977 Ford, which runs on a type of gasoline that hasn't been available for years, and he's trying to tell you that you need a newer model.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});

Last edited by Dan Korn; April 17th, 2019 at 05:15 PM..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.