LOOP help

dmsawyer

Help! I am new to FP and do not know JS. I am trying to loop through the data file and return a date range for employee time cards for the year. Here is what I have come up with,

var Ranges = new Array(“1/4/2010 1/10/2010 02-1”, “1/11/2010 1/17/2010 02-2”, … );

for (var i = 0; i < Ranges.length; i++)

{

if (Field(“Name”) > 0)

{

return Ranges;

}

}

Error "Function does not return a value."

I am using FP Desktop 6.0.6.0

Windows XP

Acrobat 8.0 Professional

I'm not sure I understand what you're trying to do. Can you provide a bit more information, maybe a snippet of the data file and what the expected output for each record would be? Are you expecting to output multiple records on separate sheets, or are you trying to aggregate all the data into one record of output?

Also, when you say, "loop through the data file," do you mean the main input file for the job, or a secondary data file? You may need to use the ExternalDataFileEx object, certainly for a secondary file, but possibly for the main data file as well, depending on what your data looks like and what your goal is.

Have uploaded txt file and sample pdf of finished product.

Highlighted section on pdf is the payperiod column in txt file, that we are

trying to change with every loop (when the name column loops around to the beginning).

I don't see an exact match-up from the input data to your sample output, so I'm still not 100 percent sure what the goal is. What exactly do you mean by, "when the name column loops around to the beginning?" In your sample, it looks like you simply have one record (line) of data for each name. Is this not always the case? As far as I can tell, this is actually a pretty simple "one-to-one" job where you just want to have each record of data generate its own output record. So I don't think there's any need for a "loop" at all. But I may still be missing something.