Compose speed issue

ericg

Hi this is my first post so i'll to do it correctly. I am also new to fusion pro.

I have a 4x6 postcard that i have to compose many times per day with different data on it each time. right now all the variable information is in one file, delivery names and addresses, text to printed on the left, path to front photo, path to back photos, etc... With the exception of the delivery names and address, all the other data is repeated for each record. I have been testing this for a few days now and have been getting speeds of only approx .5 rec/sec for about 500 recs and approx .2 rec/sec for larger files (about 1000 recs). In one case i had 2400 records and it took almost 6 hours to Compose. As i said earlier the photo on the front is variable and quite large, aprox 22 MB EPS but i think Fusion pro is converting it to a PDF of about 8 MB when i start the compose. There are a couple of other variable graphics on the back but they only about 22 K or so. All total i have probably about 9 variable text boxes and 3 variable picture boxes.

My mac is a G5 2x2.66Ghz Dual-Core Intel Xeon with 2 GB 667Mhz DDR2 FB-DIMM OS is 10.5.6 Adobe Acrobat 8.1.3 Fusion Pro 5

So finally my question is: Is the best speeds i'm going to see for this or does anyone have an suggestions about speeding it up? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks, Eric

Eric, try temporarily removing the large image from the job and time some compositions. If they are much faster than you can work on optimizing that image.