inefficent code? suggestions?

Talco

I have tried to search through the forums and take the suggestions others have offered and asked regarding this issue. But I'm still learning the coding end and I know enough to know I still don't know enough.

I just started running this new project and it builds tables from external data files. Problem is the size of the external files are very large and taxing the limits of FPDesktop. (we will be testing the direct and or server versions soon). The main data is around 10,000, but the external file can be in excess of 100,000 records. when I process the entire file at one time I compose 1,500 records in about 90 minutes.

right now we are breaking the data into smaller batches and putting the external data in the same order as the 'main data' file. having that external file small really helps the composing times. doing this brings them down to about 30-35 minutes per 1,500 records. BUT it is an extra step in massaging the data and is has caused us a couple issues down the line.

Breaking the data up might be the only way for us the realistically compose at this time, but if someone with a much better javascript/FP eye can take a look and see if I'm looping through the external data more than once (or any other suggestions that might streamline my code) I would appreciate it.

I currently have a switch set up to determine how each different line item is entered into the table. The code below just has a small sample, there are dozens of different code options.

Thanks for taking a look and any suggestions.

if(FusionPro.Composition.isPreview == true || FusionPro.inValidation == true)
{
   Rule("OnJobStart");
}

numRecsExtBTR = externalBTR.recordCount;

var BTRTable = '<table columns = 4 margins=left:13;right:13;top:28;bottom:28><column width=14000><column width=6100><column width=4900><column width=4900>';

recordWalker=1
externalBTR.FindRecord(recordWalker, Field("KEY"));

while (recordWalker <= numRecsExtBTR)
{