Accessing page number variable

bhm8hwcm

I am trying to write a rule that accesses the page number of the PDF. I know you can access the page number variable when using a text box but I need to access it within a rule for a variable graphic.

Is there a way to do this? I am new to javascript and so not sure when writing rules like this can you just refer to the page itself or must you reference the graphic frame on the page?

thanks

Hi thanks.

I have a 12pg pdf file and I am dropping an image into each page. My data file will have 12 fields...one field (containing the image name) for each page basically. Field names something like field1, field2, field3

Instead of writing a different rule for each page (or even using if...then) I want to use one rule that can be used for the variable graphic frames on all pages. Instead of hard coding the field name to be used for each page I want to setup a variable something like:

var fieldtouse = "field"+pagenum

Based on the page number it would know which field to get the picture name from.

I know I can set this up by creating 12 separate rules fairly easily. I am trying to be a little more creative though to make things easier down the road and give me more flexibility.

I have a 12pg pdf file and I am dropping an image into each page. My data file will have 12 fields...one field (containing the image name) for each page basically. Field names something like field1, field2, field3

Instead of writing a different rule for each page (or even using if...then) I want to use one rule that can be used for the variable graphic frames on all pages. Instead of hard coding the field name to be used for each page I want to setup a variable something like:

var fieldtouse = "field"+pagenum

Based on the page number it would know which field to get the picture name from.