Javascript Rule to show text fields based on graphic

ChasePI

I'm new to Fusion Pro and Javascript and I'm trying to setup a rule. I'm working on a banner that we print that has 2 different backgrounds they can choose from. When the designer set this up a few years ago they didn't take into consideration that the imprint area is not in the same position for each background option.

The rule I'm trying to create is to show and hide text depending on the background image they select. I also need to take in to consideration that if they include 2 phone numbers it adds a bullet in between.

My current rule works for the bullet issue but it shows both frames on my template in the PDF. I also don't know if it is going to work online either since they will be picking an image out of a gallery not plugging it into a field.

if ((Field("Layout") == "Blue_Background.pdf") && (Field("Info Line 2").indexOf("1") > -1))
{
  return "<span>" + TaggedDataField("Info Line 1") + RawText(" • ") + TaggedDataField("Info Line 2") + "</span>";
}
else
{
  return "<span>" + TaggedDataField("Info Line 1") + "</span>";
}

return ""; 

Any suggestions would be great, if I left any important information out please let me know.

Thanks

How about creating a rule for "building" your text (with tagged text checked) and applying the rule to both background's frames:

var myText = Field("Info Line 1");
if (Field("Info Line 2") != "") myText += " • " + Field("Info Line 2");
return myText;

Then, in an OnRecordStart callback rule, you would include the following code to suppress the "unused" frame:

if (Field("Layout") == "Blue_background.pdf") FindTextFrame("[i]yourNONblueFrameName[/i]").suppress = true;
else FindTextFrame("[i]yourBlueFrameName[/i]").suppress = true;

I plugged in the code to suppress the "unused" frame:

if (Field("Layout") == "Blue_background.pdf") FindTextFrame("Dog_Info").suppress = true;
else FindTextFrame("Blue_Info").suppress = true;