Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Software-Related Talk > The JavaScript Library > Barcodes

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 29th, 2022, 07:36 AM
milind.vaze milind.vaze is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 11
Default print barcode address label by giving starting number

Hello:
We have to daily print multiple files of address labels with barcodes. Each A4 sheet has 21 labels. Data is taken from separate excel files. The barcode required is 3 of 9 HR. Before the generating the print file will it be possible to have kind of a a pop-up window wherein for each file we can manually enter the starting number for the barcode series?
With regards.
Milind Vaze.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 30th, 2022, 04:28 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,671
Default Re: print barcode address label by giving starting number

The short answer is: No, there isn't any way to pop up a window to enter values when composing in FP Creator (in Acrobat), other than the record range and other info in the Composition Settings dialog.

The usual way to accomplish something like this is to put whatever data you want to have entered in the pop up into a secondary data file (XDF) instead.

You mention that "Data is taken from separate excel files." That sounds like you're already using XDFs, and that you already know how to deal with them. So all you need to do is add another XDF with one record and have a rule read that and apply the data however you want. Then all you have to do before each composition is update that XDF file with whatever data you're wanting to enter into a pop-up window.

The longer answer:

When you say, "Before the generating the print file," you mean, "right before the composition is done."

Keep in mind that FusionPro compositions do not always occur in the interactive context of the Acrobat plug-in where you're designing the template. Most compositions occur in an automated context, such as jobs submitted to FusionPro VDP Producer or Server, including to other systems utilizing FP Server, usually a web application such as MarcomCentral DM/Portal or EFI Digital StoreFront. Sometimes these apps have their own user entry forms for typing in data before a composition is run, but often the jobs are run in a truly automated way, such as on a timer or triggered by an external event, so there's no direct user interaction at all. Thus, the very concept that a user is there to type in data into a window when a composition starts is an assumption that's not always true.

Therefore, at a basic level, we don't know whether a template will be composed in a manual/interactive way versus in an automated way, so we don't have any functionality that assumes one way or the other.

Users who want other ways to collect data for a FusionPro composition typically do that in their own custom application which utilizes FP Server.

It sounds to me like your job could benefit from that kind of Server workflow, where you have a custom application with a form of some kind that allows the user to enter a number, then when that form is filled out and the Submit button is clicked, the application triggers an event and the composition is started automatically via a call to the FusionPro Server API. You could also probably further automate such a system so that jobs get kicked off every day automatically, and the starting number for the barcodes is read from a file or database that remembers what was run previously.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 1st, 2022, 12:57 AM
milind.vaze milind.vaze is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 11
Default Re: print barcode address label by giving starting number

Hello Dan:
Many thanks for your immediate reply and insight into this topic. It seems to me that the using an xdf file would help me solve this. I will give it a try.
Regards.
Milind Vaze.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.