Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Software-Related Talk > The JavaScript Library > Tables & Charts

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 18th, 2019, 01:15 PM
geeool geeool is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Hilliard, OH
Posts: 22
Default Text Overlapping Table

Hi,

I have a bunch of recipe cards and I'm working on programming FusionPro to merge them into a layout. Each card has an ingredient list formatted as a table. I have that programmed and it works fine. My problem is that below the ingredient list is a list of tools required for producing the recipe. The tool list is in a two column format and it needs to move with the ingredient table so it is always the same distance below the table.

In my text frame I have my rule for my ingredient table, a rule for my tool list and I have set the text frame to have two columns. The problem is that when the tool list starts the second column, the text goes to the top of the frame and is overlapping the table. I have attached screen captures of what I'm trying to achieve and what I am achieving. Is there a way to do this? I've looked through the tag reference guide but I don't see any tags for creating a paragraph that has columns. I also don't see any documentation for feeding overflow content from one table cell into another one.

Any advice is appreciated.
(FusionPro Creator 10.0.16 on Windows 10)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Intended Result Capture.JPG (63.9 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg Text Overlapping Table Capture.JPG (68.7 KB, 6 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 18th, 2019, 01:49 PM
merski007 merski007 is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 27
Default Re: Text Overlapping Table

Instead of using 2 columns in the text frame, try adding another table to the frame with that content. The text frame rules would look like this:

<tableRule1>
<tableRule2>
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 20th, 2019, 09:44 AM
geeool geeool is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Hilliard, OH
Posts: 22
Default Re: Text Overlapping Table

Thanks for the reply. I looked at adding a second table, but if I have columns turned off that would mean I would need a two column table and any overflow text would need to flow from the first column to the second. How do you code that? Everything I've seen about overflow text talks about creating an overflow page.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 20th, 2019, 03:22 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,502
Default Re: Text Overlapping Table

Quote:
Originally Posted by geeool View Post
Thanks for the reply. I looked at adding a second table, but if I have columns turned off that would mean I would need a two column table and any overflow text would need to flow from the first column to the second. How do you code that? Everything I've seen about overflow text talks about creating an overflow page.
Yes, that's the rub.

I can think of a couple of ways to solve this. One is to simply count up the number of items in the second table, and set them two per table row, with n / 2 total rows. Another is to just use a tab stop for the second part, instead of a table, and put tabs between each item.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 21st, 2019, 08:00 AM
geeool geeool is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Hilliard, OH
Posts: 22
Default Re: Text Overlapping Table

I'm thinking I have the first option worked out. Determine the number of items. Create a two column table where the row count is half the item count (or half + 1 for an odd number of items). Then place the items in the table. That should work - thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
columns, overflow, table

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.