Go Back   PTI Marketing Technologies User Community > Software-Related Talk > FusionPro® VDP Creator

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 1st, 2018, 03:45 PM
Jeff Odom Jeff Odom is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 11
Default Image not showing in Preview on Mac

When working off the server our images aren't showing in preview, they do show when we compose. We created a image resource and have it linked to the image on the server. This is only happening on the Mac's, preview shows correctly on a PC. If you place the image file on the desktop of the Mac and link the resource to it the preview works. We've tried both connecting by SMB and AFP. Has anyone ran across this before?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 6th, 2018, 09:16 AM
ScottHillock ScottHillock is offline
Regular Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 76
Default Re: Image not showing in Preview on Mac

Seems to work better if you use absolute paths instead of relative ones.

I think it has something to do with FusionPro creating a temporary file when previewing which is in a different folder than the current document. So it can't find the resource based on relative paths.

You can also set the Search Path in the compose window under the advanced tab.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 9th, 2018, 01:54 PM
Jeff Odom Jeff Odom is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 11
Default Re: Image not showing in Preview on Mac

Thanks Scott,

I did try an absolute path but had no luck. I used the terminal and I also created a service to get the absolute path but had the same results.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 25th, 2018, 08:03 AM
ThePorge ThePorge is offline
Regular Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Georgia
Posts: 56
Default Re: Image not showing in Preview on Mac

This just started to happen to me. When composing the images are there.

I also tried making the image a resource. Created a rule that returned said resource. Applied the rule to the image box and nothing when Previewed.

I have also tried a restart and having no other software running.

Mac 10.13.6
Acrobate Build: 19.8.20080.306727
FusionPro® VDP Creator 10.0.26


Also tried copying the job over local and unmounted the network drive. Relinked the data file, checked that the resource was still "ok" and previewed. Same result, no preview.
Next, I gave it the ol' try without extensions running (shift key down with restart) and nope that didn't do it either....hmmmmm

Last edited by ThePorge; October 25th, 2018 at 01:32 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 25th, 2018, 02:38 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,226
Default Re: Image not showing in Preview on Mac

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Odom View Post
When working off the server our images aren't showing in preview, they do show when we compose.
To clarify, when you say, "they do show when we compose," do you mean when you compose on your Mac? Or are you composing via Producer or online or some other remote composition?

Also, the versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your OS would be good to know.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 30th, 2018, 11:15 AM
ThePorge ThePorge is offline
Regular Contributor
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Georgia
Posts: 56
Default Re: Image not showing in Preview on Mac

In my case, composing on the Mac the pictures are there, but when previewing I'm getting nothing. This was working fine and just stopped...I've tried about everything I can think of to clear this up.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 30th, 2018, 12:37 PM
Jeff Odom Jeff Odom is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 11
Default Re: Image not showing in Preview on Mac

Yes, it is when previewing on the mac with Producer.

Mac 10.12
FusionPro 9.3
Acrobat XI
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old November 1st, 2018, 11:39 AM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,226
Default Re: Image not showing in Preview on Mac

Are you sure that you're connected to the remote server?

Also, can you please try referencing one of the graphics with a full path? You can follow these steps:
  • Connect to the file share (via SMB or AFP).
  • In the Finder, browse to the folder with one of the images in question.
  • Do a "Get Info" on the file in the Finder.
  • Copy the path from the "Where" entry in the Info window.
  • Paste the path into a Graphic rule like so:
    Code:
    return CreateResource("PASTE_FULL_PATH_HERE");
  • Set that rule into a graphic frame.
  • See whether it shows up when you preview or compose.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.