Pages on Different Media

b_owens

Okay, I'm a newbie so please excuse my ignorance.. I have a VDP job that has 3 pages--the first goes on letterhead and the other 2 on plain sheets. Can someone point me in the right direction to accomplish this task? From what I've seen so far it looks like I will need to use PS commands, but I'm lost there as well. (fusionpro desktop v.5.8P1g) TIA

Hello,

Yes there is a way to print on different media, but the commands sort of depends on your specific machine. In the FusionPro directory ("C:\Program Files\Printable\FusionPro" on a PC) you will find a subdirectory called "DigimasterMedia". In there you will see a number of different page sizes and colors to use as a PS command. These are mostly generic in nature and should work on most machines that can run postscript native files. In order to use them, you must compile in postscript and that must be set before you can use the Page Media command menu.

What I would do is set the two pages that you need on plain paper to print on "white" and the letterhead that you want to print on "red" paper. Then on your printer, set one drawer to be programmed as "red" color and another to be programmed as "white" color. If all works out right, the letterhead will be called when the "red" paper command is run, and then it will switch to the "white" when the other PS command is run.