Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Software-Related Talk > FusionPro® VDP Creator

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 4th, 2018, 12:30 PM
PMKoenig PMKoenig is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Burlington, KY
Posts: 24
Question Sequetial Numbering in yellow with Black outline

I have a customer who would like to have a form numbered sequentially in yellow with a black outline. I can do the numbering in yellow, but I have no idea how to get the black outline. Can I even do this? Right now I am changing the color in "FusionPro / Advanced / Colors". Here is the rule that I am using for the numbering. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!


var start = "1000";
var LeadingZero = "0000";

new_val = start-1

return '<z newsize="250"><setwidth newsize="130">' + FormatNumber(LeadingZero, new_val + CurrentRecordNumber());
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 4th, 2018, 01:42 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,477
Default Re: Sequetial Numbering in yellow with Black outline

If all that's in the entire text frame is the number, then this is really easy. With that frame selected, go into the Text Frame Properties palette, click the little button at the bottom that looks like a "T" with a magic wand (the "Advanced Text Effects" button), then check the "Stroke" box, and select "Outline with color" and click OK.

If you want to apply stroke to only a particular bit of text in a frame, you can use the <stroke> tag; see the Tags Reference Guide for details.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old January 4th, 2018, 01:57 PM
PMKoenig PMKoenig is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Burlington, KY
Posts: 24
Smile Re: Sequetial Numbering in yellow with Black outline

You are my hero! This works perfectly!
Thank you soooo much!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old January 4th, 2018, 02:10 PM
PMKoenig PMKoenig is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Burlington, KY
Posts: 24
Question Re: Sequetial Numbering in yellow with Black outline

HELP!!! Well, I have just noticed an issue. The text boxes for the numbering sit on top of a graphic box. Now everything in the graphic box also has a stroke on it.
I was soo happy for a moment - any thoughts on this one??? Thanks in advance!!!

Last edited by PMKoenig; January 5th, 2018 at 05:15 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old January 5th, 2018, 07:33 AM
PMKoenig PMKoenig is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Burlington, KY
Posts: 24
Default Re: Sequetial Numbering in yellow with Black outline

This morning I removed the stroke from the test boxes and changed my rules to look like this:

var start = "1500";
var LeadingZero = "0000";

new_val = start-1

return '<z newsize="65"><setwidth newsize="42"><color name="Yellow"><stroke color="Black" width="25">' + FormatNumber(LeadingZero, new_val + CurrentRecordNumber());

It is still messing with the background graphic box. Help!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old January 5th, 2018, 09:42 AM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,477
Default Re: Sequetial Numbering in yellow with Black outline

Quote:
Originally Posted by PMKoenig View Post
HELP!!! Well, I have just noticed an issue. The text boxes for the numbering sit on top of a graphic box. Now everything in the graphic box also has a stroke on it.
I was soo happy for a moment - any thoughts on this one??? Thanks in advance!!!
What version of FusionPro? I think this may be fixed in the latest build. EDIT: This is fixed in FusionPro VDP 10.0.16 and 10.0.26.
Quote:
Originally Posted by PMKoenig View Post
This morning I removed the stroke from the test boxes and changed my rules to look like this:

var start = "1500";
var LeadingZero = "0000";

new_val = start-1

return '<z newsize="65"><setwidth newsize="42"><color name="Yellow"><stroke color="Black" width="25">' + FormatNumber(LeadingZero, new_val + CurrentRecordNumber());

It is still messing with the background graphic box. Help!
Add a closing </stroke> tag at the end.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});

Last edited by Dan Korn; January 5th, 2018 at 12:30 PM.. Reason: Added fix version.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old January 5th, 2018, 12:36 PM
PMKoenig PMKoenig is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Burlington, KY
Posts: 24
Default Re: Sequetial Numbering in yellow with Black outline

I will be the first to admit that I don't know JavaScript. But this is what I changed it to and it still is messing with the background graphic. Sorry to be such a pain, but this is driving me crazy! Thanks for any and all help!

var start = "1000";
var LeadingZero = "0000";

new_val = start-1

return '<z newsize="250"><setwidth newsize="130"><color name="Yellow"><stroke color="Black" width="50">' + FormatNumber(LeadingZero, new_val + CurrentRecordNumber())+ '</stroke>';
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old January 5th, 2018, 03:27 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,477
Default Re: Sequetial Numbering in yellow with Black outline

Quote:
Originally Posted by PMKoenig View Post
I will be the first to admit that I don't know JavaScript. But this is what I changed it to and it still is messing with the background graphic.
You need to upgrade to FusionPro VDP 10.0.16 or 10.0.26, which has a fix for this very problem. Then you'll be able to just use the Text Effects dialog.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old January 8th, 2018, 06:22 AM
PMKoenig PMKoenig is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Burlington, KY
Posts: 24
Thumbs up Re: Sequetial Numbering in yellow with Black outline

Dan,

You are the best. I just completed the upgrade and it looks awesome! Thank you soo much for all your help!

Paula
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.