Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Support > Issues, Questions, Etc.

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 21st, 2018, 05:28 AM
J_Ruskin J_Ruskin is offline
Forum n00b
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 7
Default Unwanted characters exporting from FusionPro

I am having a problem exporting from FusionPro. I don't know if there is a font problem the way I have my code...I don't know what is going on. When I preview in FusionPro my program works correctly. I have my boxes displaying (using zapf dingbats) when cycling through the preview. My problem is coming when I export to a pdf. I am getting unwanted character boxes. I am copying my code. I don't know if it is the problem seeing that it is working correctly. I am also attaching screenshots viewing in fusion pro and exporting from it. If could sure use some help understanding what is going on. Thanks

var COL1 = '<f name="ITC Zapf Dingbats">o</f>'+'&nbsp;'+'&nbsp;'+'&nbsp;'+'&nbsp;'+'&nbsp;'+' &nbsp;'+ Rule("CaseSelectCollegeOne");
var COL2 = '<f name="ITC Zapf Dingbats">o</f>'+'&nbsp;'+'&nbsp;'+'&nbsp;'+'&nbsp;'+'&nbsp;'+' &nbsp;'+ Rule("CaseSelectCollegeTwo");
var COL3 = '<f name="ITC Zapf Dingbats">o</f>'+'&nbsp;'+'&nbsp;'+'&nbsp;'+'&nbsp;'+'&nbsp;'+' &nbsp;'+ Rule("CaseSelectCollegeThree");

// checks the contents of the the college field for empty fields. if field is empty it prints nothing. if the field is full it will print the contents of the field.

if (Field("COLLEGE3") != "")
{
var result = COL1 + '&nbsp;' + '&nbsp;' + '&nbsp;' + '&nbsp;' + '&nbsp;' + '&nbsp;' + COL2 + '&nbsp;' + '&nbsp;' + '&nbsp;' + '&nbsp;' + '&nbsp;' + '&nbsp;' +COL3;
}
else if (Field("COLLEGE2") != "")
{
var result = COL1 + '&nbsp;' + '&nbsp;' + '&nbsp;' + '&nbsp;' + '&nbsp;' + '&nbsp;' + COL2;
}
else if (Field("COLLEGE1") != "")
{
var result = COL1;
}
else {
return "";
}

return result
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot viewing from FusionPro.jpg (102.9 KB, 12 views)
File Type: jpg Screen Shot Exported from FusionPro.jpg (103.6 KB, 11 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 21st, 2018, 09:13 AM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,321
Default Re: Unwanted characters exporting from FusionPro

Are you embedding fonts in the output? Check the options on the Output tab of the Composition Settings.

You might also want to try checking (or un-checking) the "Limit processing to Mac Roman text" box on the Advanced tab.

Also, what versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and macOS?
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});

Last edited by Dan Korn; September 21st, 2018 at 05:51 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 21st, 2018, 01:12 PM
ScottHillock ScottHillock is offline
Regular Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 91
Default Re: Unwanted characters exporting from FusionPro

Those are missing glyph symbols. It's a result of the &nbsp; character and whichever font you have assigned to the text not having a glyph specifically for it, I believe.

if you change your return to something like this it should remove the boxes.

Code:
return result.replace("&nbsp;","<f name=‘Helvetica’>&nbsp;</f>");
Why does it preview and compose differently? I'm not sure. I always thought the preview was just a compose and convert to image happening in the background. But, I'm guessing there's a slightly different path happening which leads to the inconsistency.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 21st, 2018, 05:38 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,321
Default Re: Unwanted characters exporting from FusionPro

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottHillock View Post
Those are missing glyph symbols. It's a result of the &nbsp; character and whichever font you have assigned to the text not having a glyph specifically for it, I believe.

if you change your return to something like this it should remove the boxes.

Code:
return result.replace("&nbsp;","<f name=‘Helvetica’>&nbsp;</f>");
I have to disagree with that.

While there is a Unicode non-breaking space character, there's no glyph for it. It's invisible, after all. That character, or the "&nbsp;" entity, just tells a typesetter (FusionPro in this case) that it's not allowed to break to a new line at that space when typesetting, but a regular space character still gets put in the output. (Though in some cases, no character at all is put out for a space, just a move command in PDF or PostScript to advance to where the next word starts. All that really matters in the output is that the visible glyphs representing the text are all in the right place relative to each other for a human to read them, and exactly how their placement is accomplished is an implementation detail.)

So, while there's probably a simpler way to accomplish the desired spacing than using multiple &nbsp; entities, such as tabs, or a table, or maybe even just tag such as <space count=6>, I'm pretty sure that has nothing to do with the problem at hand.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottHillock View Post
Why does it preview and compose differently? I'm not sure. I always thought the preview was just a compose and convert to image happening in the background. But, I'm guessing there's a slightly different path happening which leads to the inconsistency.
Yes. There can be differences between preview and composed output, for a multitude of reasons, including rules that do something different depending on what was composed in previous records. Some features are also purposefully disabled for Preview, such as Imposition, Overflow page insertion, page resizing, and other features which wouldn't make sense for preview. Then there are features which have a user option to honor them at Preview time or not, such as Personalized Images and Drop Shadows. Also, graphics are down sampled for Preview, and fonts are (generally) NOT embedded, since you're only going to be seeing the Preview locally, on your machine, where you're running Acrobat.

Preview is intended as a quick way to see how changes to the template or the data will affect the output, but it is not all guaranteed to have complete fidelity with composed output.

With Acrobat DC on Mac in particular, the Preview is done in a different way, where the composed PDF is rendered using Core Graphics in macOS, rather than being rendered by Acrobat. So there are sometimes subtle differences. There is a setting to embed fonts in Preview, even though that normally isn't done, that sometimes helps with particular fonts that don't otherwise appear properly in Preview in Acrobat DC on Mac. However, in this case, it's the other way around, where the font seems to preview correctly, but is not correct in composed output, so I don't think that setting would help here.

Anyway, I don't think there's much else that can be done to troubleshoot this here without having, at a minimum, the job files. So J_Ruskin, you can feel free to post your template (or a minimal example which demonstrates the problem) here, and someone might be able to figure out what's going on. However, I suspect that a full analysis of the problem may require examination of your font as well, and since posting fonts to this forum is not allowed, that would require going through Support. Support is probably your best bet anyway, so you might as well just go ahead and contact them.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.