Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Software-Related Talk > FusionPro® VDP Creator

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 31st, 2012, 04:45 PM
farns farns is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 38
Default FusionProResource pdfbbox = TrimBox

Good evening,

After searching my FP documentation and searching around here a bit, I'm having trouble finding an answer to this...

I am bringing in a PDF resource as defined in my data, and making sort of a thumbnail on a sheet for it. The PDF has full 1/8" bleeds defined, and so of course it comes into my thumbnail graphic frame with that bleed included.

I see there's a resource for defining that the image is using the TrimBox settings, but I can't figure out the correct use and syntax to get it to work.

All FP building blocks gives me is: <resource>.pdfbbox

The code I'm using to bring that resource into my job looks like:
{return CreateResource("C:\\Output\\Elements\\" + (Field("OrderNumber") + ".pdf"))} (truncated to mask client names, etc...)

Can somebody help me figure out to apply this trim setting to this resource? Thanks!

Farns
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old January 31st, 2012, 06:08 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,478
Default Re: FusionProResource pdfbbox = TrimBox

Code:
var r = CreateResource("C:\\Output\\Elements\\" + (Field("OrderNumber") + ".pdf"));
r.pdfbbox = "TrimBox";
return r;
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 1st, 2012, 07:58 AM
farns farns is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 38
Default Re: FusionProResource pdfbbox = TrimBox

beautiful!

I need to learn better about using these variables. I think I have a hard time grasping what all can be put into a variable, and then used with ease later in the script.

Thank you very very much!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 1st, 2012, 08:45 AM
DSweet's Avatar
DSweet DSweet is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oberlin, Ohio
Posts: 246
Default Re: FusionProResource pdfbbox = TrimBox

Hello,

I've tried that very same setting for pdfbbox using the "CropBox", "BleedBox", and "TrimBox" values in three separate graphic rules...
Code:
var r = new FusionProResource("DOTS_9x6_ValCard_2.pdf", "graphic", true);
r.pdfbbox = "CropBox";
return r;
I made sure the boxes for each setting within the pdf resource file were different values. I also made sure the graphic box to display these images were set to fully center. I also outlined each graphic box to show the alignment and the starting placement location.

The only different is that the top box was set to "none" for sizing and the bottom box was set to "BestFit". I wanted to see if the images would be resized yet still keep the proper use of which "outline box" to use for the setting.

As you can see in the uploaded sample the settings were accepted for the different Crop/Bleed/Trim Box, but the alignment "always started at the bottom left corner". I've also included the resource file I used.

Any ideas as to why this would occur?
.
__________________
David A. Sweet
Variable Data Specialist
HKM Direct Market Communications
Windows 7, Acrobat 10.x
FusionPro Desktop and Server 10.0.26

Last edited by DSweet; February 8th, 2018 at 10:50 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 1st, 2012, 08:58 AM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,478
Default Re: FusionProResource pdfbbox = TrimBox

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSweet View Post
Hello,

I've tried that very same setting for pdfbbox using the "CropBox", "BleedBox", and "TrimBox" values in three separate graphic rules...
Code:
var r = new FusionProResource("DOTS_9x6_ValCard_2.pdf", "graphic", true);
r.pdfbbox = "CropBox";
return r;
I made sure the boxes for each setting within the pdf resource file were different values. I also made sure the graphic box to display these images were set to fully center. I also outlined each graphic box to show the alignment and the starting placement location.

The only different is that the top box was set to "none" for sizing and the bottom box was set to "BestFit". I wanted to see if the images would be resized yet still keep the proper use of which "outline box" to use for the setting.

As you can see in the uploaded sample the settings were accepted for the different Crop/Bleed/Trim Box, but the alignment "always started at the bottom left corner". I've also included the resource file I used.

Any ideas as to why this would occur?
.
This is a known issue, case FP-11682. It's fixed in FusionPro 8. It might work in 7.2 if you only use the graphic with a single bounding box in the job, instead of trying to use it with multiple settings in different frames.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old February 1st, 2012, 10:38 AM
farns farns is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 38
Default Re: FusionProResource pdfbbox = TrimBox

Hmm... It previews perfect, but when I compose, then it doesn't seem to honor the "TrimBox". I'm on Windows, FP v6, forgot to mention that before. I also made sure that my box was exactly 50% proportional in size to the proper page size.

I did some tests with "best fit", "fill", and other settings. Still not achieving the desired result. Hmmm.....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old February 1st, 2012, 11:24 AM
farns farns is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 38
Default Re: FusionProResource pdfbbox = TrimBox

I'm using this pdf resource (with 1/8" bleed) twice in the job with separate rules, I'm wondering if there's some conflict.

I use it once at 50% size, on a cover sheet, where I don't want the bleed involved. Then I use it on the next two pages at full size, where I do need the bleed. My file structure is:

CoverFront
CoverBack
ProductFront
ProductBack

right now CoverBack is blank, and ProductBack is the only thing following the rules I have written. ProductFront seems to now be clipping or scaling the image down some how. I wonder if this is a conflict because of what I'm doing with the thumbnail.

I added the pdfbbox line to my rules to create the product pages, just so I could specify the box I want used, in case it was tying it's parameters to the thumbnail box. No change. I am 98% of the way there... just can't figure out why it's previewing right and composing wrong
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old February 1st, 2012, 11:26 AM
farns farns is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 38
Default Re: FusionProResource pdfbbox = TrimBox

ooh it is connected. I changed the parameter for my thumbnail from page 1 to page 2, and then on my real pages, page 1 is now perfect, and page 2 is scaled down wonky.

So it appears I cannot use a resource twice in a job, with the code as I have written it. I'm not sharing rules between them... hmmmm....
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old February 1st, 2012, 12:10 PM
farns farns is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 38
Default Re: FusionProResource pdfbbox = TrimBox

Sorry for all the posts here... I'm just trying to work & think my way through this.

So I did several tests, and it's clear that once I've called the resource whichever page is first in my document (thumb or full size), then the next page that uses the resource uses whatever settings the first instance used.

So I can either get everything to use bleed, or to not use it. I can't seem to separate them. I'm not using similar variable names, or anything. I was hoping I could call the resource, apply parameter "A", and then call it again and apply parameter "B", but alas I cannot figure out.

Anybody have any thoughts, or should I work on a workaround to hide the bleed on my thumbnail images? I have a couple ideas, but they are less beautiful than when I'm trying to do.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.