Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Support > Fonts

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 16th, 2022, 07:57 AM
J_Ruskin J_Ruskin is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 14
Default Displaying characters from foreign names

I have a question? I am trying to output data that contains different characters in the names and addresses from foreign countries. Germany, Korea, Turkey. They are not displaying correctly when outputting my file. These characters are fine in the excel document but then apparently convert when a .txt file is created. When I import the excel file some of the characters appear but not all of them, mainly the korean characters. I am exporting the data out using helvetica. Is this my problem? Any suggestions on how to get my data to output correctly?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 16th, 2022, 11:02 AM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,671
Default Re: Displaying characters from foreign names

It's hard to say exactly what you need to do without the collected job files, as well as information about the versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system.

I'm also a bit confused as to whether you're using the Excel file directly as the input to FusionPro or exporting it to a text file which you then use as the input. If it's the latter, you're probably better off importing the Excel directly and reducing the number of conversions.

Also, what exactly do you mean by "not displaying correctly?" What exactly are you seeing?

A picture might be worth a thousand words here. Collecting up the job, and posting it here would be better. Collecting and posting a minimal sample which demonstrates the problem would be best.

A few general things to keep in mind:

* Always do a full composition (not just a preview) and look at the log file. It likely contains some clues as to what's going wrong and how to fix it.

* You need to use a font that supports whatever characters you're trying to output. Not every font supports every Unicode character, though there are some "Pan-Unicode" fonts which try to handle a lot of them, such as Microsoft's Arial Unicode MS and Google's Noto.

* If you're using a text file as input, you may need to specify its encoding in the Define Data Source dialog.

* Depending on the Unicode characters you're outputting, you may need to UN-check the "Limit processing to Latin-1 / Mac Roman" box on the Advanced tab of the Composition Settings dialog.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.