Complex if Statement for Biz-Card

panthermac

Good morning,

Have a request from a customer that involves waaaay more javascript programming than I've ever done (and my head hurts pretty bad so far...) I'm new to the javascript end of Printables...

Customer has Address information on the bottom of the card, and use a bullet to separate Address lines 1 and 2, from City, state Zip.

Addr1, Add2 • City, State Zip

I've handled the comma's w/ the pre-formatted rule handily. However some folks will use a state only, or even a city only, no state or zip.. and handling the bullet point isn't working well for me at all (again, I'm new to Javascript, and smoked a lot of dope in college, so.... :rolleyes: )

I'm pretty sure what I want/need to do is write a complex if statement, involving all of variable's (City, State, Zip), that appear to the Right of the bullet? If all of those fields are blank, I don't want a bullet. If any one of them contains info, I need a bullet to separate Addr1 and Addr2 from the other fields. It is also possible I could have no info for addy's 1+2, and be given just a state field to populate (so there's several permutations on how my data may come in, and I'm not able to properly handle the bullet's presence w/ Javascript).

Here's what I came up w/ on my own, but I keep getting syntax errors on the 'else' statement (!?) and it won't work for me:

if (Field("City") == "") + (Field("State") == "") + (Field("Zip") == "")
return "";

if (Field("City") != "") + (Field("State") == "") + (Field("Zip") == "")
   return ' • '+Field("City");

if (Field("City") == "") + (Field("State") != "") + (Field("Zip") == "")
   return ' • '+Field("State");

if (Field("City") == "") + (Field("State") == "") + (Field("Zip") != "")
   return ' • '+Field("Zip");

else 
   return ' • '+Field("City")', '+Field("State")' '+Field("Zip");

Thanks for the help!

- Mac