Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Software-Related Talk > FusionPro® Links

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old May 10th, 2010, 08:32 AM
EricC EricC is offline
Regular Contributor
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 87
Talking Variable Image onThankYou Page

I downloaded your AcmeCorp demo PURL site, and I can see how JavaScript can be used to direct the user to the next page (e.g. 'ThankYou' page), based on the value they selected from a radio button - (Dining, Sports, Grocery or Furniture).

In this example, there are 4 versons of the 'next' page - one for Dining, one for Sports, one for Grocery, and another for Furniture.

What if I only had ONE 'next' page ... I just want the PICTURE to change, based on the value the user selects from a drop-down list.

Is this possible?
My drop-down list has 20 selections. I don't want to make 20 'ThankYou' pages if the only thing that changes is the picture.

Thank you!
__________________
--
Eric Carbone
IT/Project Manager, MOR Printing Inc.

Windows 10 |Adobe Acrobat XI | FusionPro 9
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 11th, 2010, 10:24 AM
FreightTrain's Avatar
FreightTrain FreightTrain is offline
Learning Development Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 326
Default Re: Variable Image onThankYou Page

Eric,
Yes it is possible. You are using your value selected to drive the graphic on the Thank you page. This is similar to the way If/Then rules change Variable graphics on a VDP item with FP Desktop.
__________________
Richard A. Lewis, Jr.
Learning Development Manager | MarcomCentral® a Ricoh Company
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old May 12th, 2010, 11:43 AM
EricC EricC is offline
Regular Contributor
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 87
Talking Re: Variable Image onThankYou Page

uhhhh ... I'm still lost.

Does anyone have a sample site (with working code) that I can look at?
None of the demo sites from printable show how to implement a variable graphic.
__________________
--
Eric Carbone
IT/Project Manager, MOR Printing Inc.

Windows 10 |Adobe Acrobat XI | FusionPro 9
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 19th, 2010, 06:15 AM
James.Lee@DG3.com James.Lee@DG3.com is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 25
Default Re: Variable Image onThankYou Page

Is there an update on this? I would be interested to know, as I have a client with 100+ different images they would like to display.

And actually, the form wouldn't drive the graphic in this case. The user is associated with a particular graphic that needs to be pulled
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 19th, 2010, 08:20 AM
jstehman jstehman is offline
PTI Technical Support - Forum Admin
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 67
Default Re: Variable Image onThankYou Page

Hello James,

I was about to email you the sample microsite but I see your CPM already did, please let us know if you need anything else.

Jeff Stehman
Technical Support | PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable Technologies, Inc.
jstehman@pti.com | www.pti.com
858.847.6622 direct | 800.220.1727 office
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 19th, 2010, 08:46 AM
James.Lee@DG3.com James.Lee@DG3.com is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 25
Default Re: Variable Image onThankYou Page

Yes, I have reviewed this zip. It appears as though this solves a small selection with a simple "switch" function. However, this client has a database of 400+ images of products that can be referenced.

Is there a way to use Dan Korn's CreateResource rule from FP Desktop in a situation like this? Thread is found here: http://forums.printable.com/showthre...ble+image+link
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 19th, 2010, 11:50 AM
jstehman jstehman is offline
PTI Technical Support - Forum Admin
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 67
Default Re: Variable Image onThankYou Page

Desktop and Links are completely different so anything specifically for Desktop would not apply to Links.

The upload limit for a www.zip file is 100 MB so as long as you're under that you should be fine.

Jeff Stehman
Technical Support | PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable Technologies, Inc.
jstehman@pti.com | www.pti.com
858.847.6622 direct | 800.220.1727 office
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old October 19th, 2010, 12:09 PM
James.Lee@DG3.com James.Lee@DG3.com is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 25
Default Re: Variable Image onThankYou Page

I know they are completely separate programs. However the rules for FP Desktop, as I've experienced them, have a basis in javascript. That's why I asked if there was a similar function that could be used within FP Links.

The issue isn't the file size. The issue is I don't want to have to build 400+ different "if/else" lines, followed by CSSs and/or html pages to account for each possibility. Is there another way?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old October 19th, 2010, 01:25 PM
jstehman jstehman is offline
PTI Technical Support - Forum Admin
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 67
Default Re: Variable Image onThankYou Page

The only way I am aware of is the method illustrated in the sample microsite we sent you.

Jeff Stehman
Technical Support | PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable Technologies, Inc.
jstehman@pti.com | www.pti.com
858.847.6622 direct | 800.220.1727 office
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
variable graphic

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.