Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Software-Related Talk > FusionPro® Links

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 8th, 2010, 09:18 AM
Stack's Avatar
Stack Stack is offline
Regular Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Annapolis Junction, MD, USA
Posts: 105
Default Hypothetical question regarding cnames

I'm not very versed in cnames, so please excuse what could potentially be a really silly question... Is it at all possible to specify a subdomain AND a directory as a cname? In looking at the FusionPro Links documentation, it specifies to either use a subdomain name or a domain name as a cname. We pretty much had to jump through flaming hoops to get just a single subdomain setup for use as a cname, so we're trying to think of alternate methods to setup and have active multiple campaigns. So for example, could http://campaigns.website.com/SpringPromo and http://campaigns.website.com/SummerPromo serve as valid cnames?

Any ides or suggestions would be very welcome! So far the best idea I've come up with is to add a couple extra portals to the Excel spreadsheet; one would be a campaign name followed by an underscore, and the other would be the customer's name (e.g. http://campaigns.website.com/SpringPromo_ChrisStackhouse). While this would generate campaign-specific PURLs, the issue still exists where we could only have 1 campaign active at once.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old May 18th, 2010, 10:06 AM
FreightTrain's Avatar
FreightTrain FreightTrain is offline
Learning Development Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 326
Default Re: Hypothetical question regarding cnames

Stack,
I know this has been a while, but the option you mention will not work. For any one domain, sub-domain name or cname you may only have one campaign active at a time. You can have more than one Campaign active in a Portal, but the domain name must be unique.
__________________
Richard A. Lewis, Jr.
Learning Development Manager | MarcomCentral® a Ricoh Company
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.