Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Software-Related Talk > FusionPro® VDP Server (API)

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 26th, 2016, 03:10 PM
DSweet's Avatar
DSweet DSweet is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oberlin, Ohio
Posts: 241
Default Old Templates - New Resources

I am going to assume that this is NOT a FusionPro problem, but more likely one of having old templates. We've had a site open for a customer for their stationery needs (biz cards, letterhead, notepads, etc...) since 2009. I created those templates probably in Acrobat 8 using FusionPro somewhere around v6 or v7. So long ago it doesn't really matter. The templates pull in a company logo and places specified text in there places. (YAWN ... I know just stay with me on this.) Everything has been fine from 2009 ... 'til now.

The client has since updated their logo and provided me with a new one to place on all of there stationery items. So...since I stored the logo as an outside resource just linked to each of the templates I thought that I would just have to swap out the old resources with the new and I wouldn't need to touch the templates at all. A change that would take around 3 to 5 minutes to do.

BAM! SOCKO! OOF! Now ALL those templates didn't work and the message log file came back stating
Code:
  Graphic is not found or is not processed properly: thomEnv10_Shell.pdf.
  Check for file existence and that it is of the proper format.
Every single template that has worked flawlessly for the past 6 and a half years now had the same error message just with a different graphic item reference. Nothing worked.

At first I thought that I might have to completely redo AAALLLLLL those templates over again (about 30 or so), but I decided to try something else first. I opened the original template stored off site and without changing anything simply reprocessed a text file, re-saved it, and moved the template .def, .dif and .pdf files to our live site and reprocessed a text file there. Repeated for each of the other templates as well after the first one did work.

Now they all work again. No problem anymore but just a question to put out to the forum that I hope someone with a little more Adobe Acrobat knowledge than I might be able to shed some light on. I know that there are different features with each version of Acrobat and many are not backwards compatible, but not being able to read in a simple pdf image of a logo? The logo was given to me as an eps file so I just made it into a pdf file to use since FusionPro does that same process anyway. I even distilled it using Distiller settings for version 5.0. Really puzzled on this one and thinking that maybe I should do this for those templates (and others) each time I get an update to FusionPro or Acrobat as well. I don't know if that's a "Best Practice" or not, but it sure beats the heck out of the shock that I received when 30 or so templates suddenly took a dump!
.
__________________
David A. Sweet
Variable Data Specialist
HKM Direct Market Communications
Windows 7, Acrobat 10.x
FusionPro Desktop and Server 10.0.26

Last edited by DSweet; April 26th, 2016 at 03:13 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 26th, 2016, 05:47 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,408
Default Re: Old Templates - New Resources

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSweet View Post
I opened the original template stored off site and without changing anything simply reprocessed a text file, re-saved it, and moved the template .def, .dif and .pdf files to our live site and reprocessed a text file there.
If you could provide both the old and new versions of (a set of) those files, either posted here or sent to Support, then I, or someone else here, could examine them and see what's different. Otherwise, there's not much to go on.

We do run extensive regression testing with each new build of FusionPro, to make sure that a fairly comprehensive set of jobs, some going back to the DL Formatter days, compose the same output as with older versions. But we can't test every combination of input resources, output formats, and composition features.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSweet View Post
I know that there are different features with each version of Acrobat and many are not backwards compatible, but not being able to read in a simple pdf image of a logo?.
I doubt that a composition-time problem like this has anything to do with the version of Acrobat. It's most likely related to changes in the version of FusionPro itself, or possibly the version of Windows.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSweet View Post
The logo was given to me as an eps file so I just made it into a pdf file to use since FusionPro does that same process anyway.
It does that if you're composing to PDF, or to a PDF-based output format such as VDX.

But if you're composing to PostScript (or something PostScript-based like PPML), then it could be a problem converting the PDF resources back to EPS. If that's the case, you could just use the original PostScript resource and name it with a .pdf extension. (It's a bit of a white lie, and Windows won't know what to do with it, but FusionPro doesn't care about extensions for graphic resources.)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSweet View Post
I even distilled it using Distiller settings for version 5.0. Really puzzled on this one and thinking that maybe I should do this for those templates (and others) each time I get an update to FusionPro or Acrobat as well. I don't know if that's a "Best Practice" or not, but it sure beats the heck out of the shock that I received when 30 or so templates suddenly took a dump!
Again, if you're composing to PostScript, then you're better off just giving FusionPro the original PostScript file instead of round-tripping it through PDF.

What output format are you composing to?
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.