Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Software-Related Talk > FusionPro® VDP Producer (formerly FusionPro® Direct)

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 22nd, 2016, 11:17 AM
wrenchmaster wrenchmaster is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 44
Default Letter imports with variable within.

I have a project with 3 different letter. Each letter calls variables from a data file,
so each letter must be dynamic.
I seam to have been able to make 3 text resources with the variable embedded but I am having problems figuring out how to format the text. I set it up some what in the resource editor but it does preview correctly.
What am I missing, any tips?

Thank You
Charles Cabral
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 22nd, 2016, 11:54 AM
tou tou is offline
Regular Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 107
Default Re: Letter imports with variable within.

I usually use word or some word processing tool to type my letters and copy and place into text box or formatted text rule. Add your variables afterwards. Make sure the "hard" returns are remove to have a natural line wrap.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 22nd, 2016, 01:17 PM
wrenchmaster wrenchmaster is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 44
Default Re: Letter imports with variable within.

I have to match the attributes of the letter as it was set up in InDesign.
Thats my problem, I can't have natural breaks, it needs to look exactly like the client created it.
Do you understand what I mean?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 22nd, 2016, 01:21 PM
tou tou is offline
Regular Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 107
Default Re: Letter imports with variable within.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrenchmaster View Post
I have to match the attributes of the letter as it was set up in InDesign.
Thats my problem, I can't have natural breaks, it needs to look exactly like the client created it.
Do you understand what I mean?
Can you provide a screen shot? A picture can mean 1000 words.

If you are to retain the exact position, then sometimes using the static text as a graphic (PDF) is a good option.

Again, without knowing what we're looking at. It's hard to suggest. When you mention letter with variables, I'm thinking a letter with variables in the middle of a paragraph and not form type, so I can't imagine no wrapping if its a formal/conventional letter.

Good luck and hope to see some screen shots, if you may.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 22nd, 2016, 05:05 PM
wrenchmaster wrenchmaster is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 44
Default Re: Letter imports with variable within.

Can't use static elements. Within each letter are variable areas, so text must remain
dynamic.

I'll get some picts...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old September 22nd, 2016, 05:42 PM
wrenchmaster wrenchmaster is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 44
Default Re: Letter imports with variable within.

Here are the letters...UMD-Fall2016AnnualFund-CONTROL.pdf

UMD-Fall2016AnnualFund-FIXED.pdf

UMD-Fall2016AnnualFund-TEST.pdf
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 23rd, 2016, 05:53 AM
dreimer dreimer is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Shakopee, MN
Posts: 465
Default Re: Letter imports with variable within.

I would build each page as its own in the Fusion Pro template and make them unused. Then have a OnRecordStart rule use a field in the data to call out which page to use for each record.
__________________
Don Reimer - JavaScript Novice

MAC OS 10.12.5 Acrobat XI 11.0.0 FP Creator 10.0.16
Windows 7 Acrobat X 10.1.4 FP Creator 9.3.9
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old September 23rd, 2016, 06:56 AM
tou tou is offline
Regular Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 107
Default Re: Letter imports with variable within.

You can do what @dreimer suggest. However while composing the job all pages will be processed, then not used. The advantage is you see all the pages and can manually make changes more directly.

Given that the ask amounts doesn't wrap your first paragraphs, I'd setup 3 PDFs less the variables portion of the letter and variably call the PDFs via Graphic Rule and setup the text box accordingly. In OnRecordStart rule, you can then suppress the text box you don't want to show.

2 page setup should do the trick.

here's a snippet of a setup I have that controls two different positions of address blocks and indicias due to design of the piece. You have to name your elements according. In your case you will possibly have 3 sets of objects.

Code:
var VariableName = FindTextFrame("addHigh")
var VariableName2 = FindTextFrame("addLow")
var VariableName3 = FindTextFrame("indiciaHigh")
var VariableName4 = FindTextFrame("indiciaLow")
var VariableName5 = FindTextFrame("addHigh2")
var VariableName6 = FindTextFrame("addLow2")

var VariableName7 = FindTextFrame("SAL1")
var VariableName8 = FindTextFrame("SAL2")

if (Field("user05")=="5") {
    VariableName.suppress = true
    VariableName2.suppress = false
    VariableName3.suppress = true
    VariableName4.suppress = false
    VariableName5.suppress = true
    VariableName6.suppress = false
} else {
    VariableName.suppress = false
    VariableName2.suppress = true
    VariableName3.suppress = false
    VariableName4.suppress = true
    VariableName5.suppress = false
    VariableName6.suppress = true
}
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old September 23rd, 2016, 09:32 AM
wrenchmaster wrenchmaster is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 44
Default Re: Letter imports with variable within.

Can you elaborate a bit on this?

Where do I begin with something like this?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old September 23rd, 2016, 02:41 PM
tou tou is offline
Regular Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 107
Default Re: Letter imports with variable within.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrenchmaster View Post
Can you elaborate a bit on this?

Where do I begin with something like this?
Attached is what I download and quickly programmed. Looks like your letters lines up pretty well so didn't have to suppress multiple text boxes.

I've also include the modified PDF less the VDP stuff for you to put somewhere and update letterFront and letterBack rules to the right location. Calling PDFs directly from a network location means FusionPro needs to have access to it if you are compiling server wise...otherwise load them in as resources and change coding to call it.

Good luck.

p.s. I didn't do the address block part....
Attached Files
File Type: zip TEMPLATE-UMD.zip (6.04 MB, 10 views)
File Type: pdf TEST-DATA-Output.pdf (342.3 KB, 12 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.