Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Software-Related Talk > FusionPro® Expression™

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old December 13th, 2016, 09:34 AM
Stack's Avatar
Stack Stack is offline
Regular Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Annapolis Junction, MD, USA
Posts: 105
Default Re: Bloated file size when outputting in batches

Well after days of fighting with the template, I finally stumbled on something that allowed me to consistently output batches of files that were not bloated: From the Composition screen, click on the Graphics tab, then the Settings button next to "Personalized Images". Leave everything as is -- "Enable in Preview Mode" and "Preprocess in Batch Mode" both checked and hit OK.

That's it.

If I didn't do the steps above, I could see in the FusionPro Composition System window that it was dragging it's way thru all 20 records, and I'd end up with a bloated file. But when I did the above steps, I could see in the same window that that it flew thru all 20 records and output a perfectly fine PDF file in 10-15 seconds.

Kinda wish I hadn't struggled for days but oh well, I got what I needed eventually.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old December 14th, 2016, 11:17 AM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,293
Default Re: Bloated file size when outputting in batches

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stack View Post
Well after days of fighting with the template, I finally stumbled on something that allowed me to consistently output batches of files that were not bloated: From the Composition screen, click on the Graphics tab, then the Settings button next to "Personalized Images". Leave everything as is -- "Enable in Preview Mode" and "Preprocess in Batch Mode" both checked and hit OK.

That's it.

If I didn't do the steps above, I could see in the FusionPro Composition System window that it was dragging it's way thru all 20 records, and I'd end up with a bloated file. But when I did the above steps, I could see in the same window that that it flew thru all 20 records and output a perfectly fine PDF file in 10-15 seconds.

Kinda wish I hadn't struggled for days but oh well, I got what I needed eventually.
Okay, so a few thoughts on this.

First, turning off preprocessing will probably make the job run more slowly, because FusionPro VDP has to wait for each Expression image to be made in turn. With preprocessing, Expression makes the images in parallel to the VDP composition. However, generated graphics should be cached, so if you have already made all of the graphics for a particular data set, and then you run the job again, you should be able to turn preprocessing off, since the VDP job won't have to wait for the Expression images to be generated. (The Preview mode setting has no effect on non-Preview compositions.)

Second, it seems most likely that the reason some outputs are bigger than others is because some of the Expression graphics were created and cached at a larger size than others. This is likely because you ran some of them separately with the Expression Producer. I can't verify this without poking around on your machine, though.

Third, all of this can work a bit differently depending on your setup. In my very first post in this thread, I asked if you were composing locally in FP Desktop (Acrobat), or via FP Producer or Server, but you never answered that.

The bottom line is that the way that FusionPro VDP and FusionPro Expression work together is complicated, and depends on how you have set things up, and on how you're composing. So it's almost impossible to diagnose what's going on through a keyhole here on the forum, even with your files. I'm glad you got things working though.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old December 14th, 2016, 11:26 AM
Stack's Avatar
Stack Stack is offline
Regular Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Annapolis Junction, MD, USA
Posts: 105
Default Re: Bloated file size when outputting in batches

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Korn View Post
Okay, so a few thoughts on this.

First, turning off preprocessing will probably make the job run more slowly, because FusionPro VDP has to wait for each Expression image to be made in turn.
So do you have to click the Settings button to enable preprocessing? When I clicked Settings, it was already checked, I never turned the setting off or on. But the files would bloat if I didn't first click the Settings button.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old December 14th, 2016, 12:33 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,293
Default Re: Bloated file size when outputting in batches

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stack View Post
So do you have to click the Settings button to enable preprocessing? When I clicked Settings, it was already checked, I never turned the setting off or on. But the files would bloat if I didn't first click the Settings button.
Preprocessing is on by default, because it's usually more optimal. That's why I said that the job may run more slowly if you turn it off.

I have no idea why simply going into that dialog and clicking OK without changing anything would make a difference in the output. That seems like a coincidence. But it might be worthwhile to compare the DEF (data definition) files from the two composition runs.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.