Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Support > Digital Workflow Documents

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 18th, 2015, 07:17 PM
vpratap vpratap is offline
Forum n00b
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1
Default Template change

Hi

I created a while ago but now background image is changed. How do i change the background yet maintaining the same rules and database.

Is it something easily done or do need to start from the scratch.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 18th, 2015, 09:12 PM
Alex Marshall's Avatar
Alex Marshall Alex Marshall is offline
FusionPro VDP Support
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Chicago,Illinois
Posts: 380
Default Re: Template change

Transferring Layout and Rules from a previous job

You need to make sure that if you are using FusionPro template
Rules, select "FusionPro>>Edit Rules".

Highlight the Rule and click "Convert To JavaScript".
Click "Ok", "Ok" and save the template.

Now compose one record. This will save the settings in the file

This will ensure all the Rules will get transferred when using this
solution

If you are building an identical job that has the same layout,
variable frames, rules, but different data file with the same field
names, and would like to eliminate the need to reconstruct the
FusionPro PDF; this tip will help.

First, click "FusionPro", "Data Definition", "Wizard".
Select "Import Data Source From Another Document".
Click Next.
Browse to the folder that contains the original pdf you want the
information imported from.
The name of the file will have a ".def" extension. Select it. Click
"Open".
Click "Finish"
Click "FusionPro", "Advanced", "Import".
A dialog box will appear with the following options preselected:
Variable Layout, Colors, Style.
Browse to the folder containing the original pdf .
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 19th, 2015, 06:30 AM
step's Avatar
step step is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 955
Default Re: Template change

An easier solution (read: a solution for the lazy - like myself) would be to just draw a graphic frame over your original background and pull in your new artwork by assigning a graphic rule to the new frame. This will allow you to continue using the same template for multiple background revisions without having to move your frames, rules, or create a completely different template. Here's how:
  1. Draw a graphic frame spanning the entire template
  2. Create a graphic rule called "Background" that will consist of the following:
    Code:
    var bg = '/path/to/background.pdf'; // Change to fit your template
    bg = CreateResource(bg);
    bg.pagenumber = 2; // Optionally specify the page number in the PDF to return
    return bg;
  3. Assign the rule to the graphic frame:
    Click the "[Field or Rule]" drop down
    Select the "Background" rule you just created. If you don't see it, you may have created a text rule instead of a graphic rule
    Set the "fill" to white
    Adjust aligning and scaling as you see fit.
  4. Move the frame to the back (FusionPro > Layers > Send Frame to Back)

I typically set my templates up like this initially. Admittedly, I don't include any graphics in my template files but you could easily remove them from yours with PitStop or a similar tool if you are worried about the original background causing the job to compose with unused spots or something (though with the white fill in the graphic box, I don't think that would happen).
__________________
Ste Pennell
FusionPro VDP Creator 9.3.15
Adobe Acrobat X 10.1.1
Mac OS X 10.12

LinkedIn
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 19th, 2015, 09:42 AM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,322
Default Re: Template change

Quote:
Originally Posted by step View Post
I typically set my templates up like this initially. Admittedly, I don't include any graphics in my template files but you could easily remove them from yours with PitStop or a similar tool if you are worried about the original background causing the job to compose with unused spots or something (though with the white fill in the graphic box, I don't think that would happen).
You can also simply check the "Suppress static background in composition" box on the Graphics tab of the Composition Settings dialog. This is often used for jobs which are going to put variable data on top of a pre-printed "shell" background. In such a case, you want to see the background in Preview, but not include it in the composed output.

Also, if you do want to remove the background pictures and text, you don't need PitStop. You can use the Content Editing tools which are built into Acrobat Pro. Just select the "Edit Text & Images" tool, then, for each page, "Select All" from the Edit menu (or Ctrl-A on Windows or Command-A on Mac), and then press the Delete key. Voila, no more background!
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.