Replacing text - complex?

I'm VERY new to FusionPro, and don't have much of a clue when it comes to javascript, so forgive me ahead of time. Here's what I'm trying to do:

The first few words of one paragraph is (John is used as a sample) "John, need to...". What I'm trying to do and keep getting a syntax error on is if the first name field is blank, replace the comma and word "need" with just the word "Need" with a capital N. I have another paragraph that's very similar with the same dilemma. Do I create a new rule using a "replacestring" command? I think that's right, but I'm not totally sure, and can't seem to find the answer in the manual.

Help? Thanks!

It sounds like only the "<<name>>, N" is variable and the rest of the text is static, right? If so, you could have a rule that checks to see if the value of the name field is empty and adjust just the quoted portion above, followed by the rest of the text entered manually in the text editor window.

if (Field("Name") != "") {
  return Field("Name") + ", N";
  }
else return "N";

There would, of course, be no space between the rule and the "eed to..." in your text editor.

OMG you ROCK! I can't tell you how much time I've been spending on this researching and flipping through the manual, and googling, etc. My IQ is fairly high, but javascript makes me feel like it's about 12! LOL! It was probably so basic for you...thanks so much! I'll learn it - it'll just take time (something I don't have much of)!

So... when would you use the replace string command? I was way off base on that one, eh?

Hello Tattoued,