Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Software-Related Talk > FusionPro® VDP Creator

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 29th, 2020, 07:39 AM
jimmyhartington jimmyhartington is offline
Regular Contributor
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 65
Default FPRepeatableComponent and textwrap

Hi

I have made my first template using the FPRepeatableComponent.
And it works mostly as I would like.

My challenge is that I need the elements to flow along side an irregular shape.
So I have created blank fields with textwrap.
But some places the spacing between the elements are not uniform.
See record 10 in my template between the numbers 25, 26 and 27.
You can download the template from the link below.
Record 1-4 and record 7-10 are the ones where the repeatable component is used in a textframe with textwrap.



Does anybody have a good idea how to get a uniform spacing?

Download template
__________________
Kind regards Jimmy Hartington

-------
Happy MarcomCentral® customer - OS version: macOS 10.15.7 - Acrobat DC - FusionPro version: 11.2.1

Last edited by jimmyhartington; September 29th, 2020 at 07:42 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old September 29th, 2020, 08:12 AM
jwhittaker jwhittaker is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 162
Default Re: FPRepeatableComponent and textwrap

Hey Jimmy
Have you thought about using tabs instead of all the separate frames to control the runaround? I think this will be a better solution.
Jon
__________________
FusionPro VDP Creator 10.0.26 | MacOS 10.13.4 | Acrobat DC
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 29th, 2020, 12:24 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,502
Default Re: FPRepeatableComponent and textwrap

Yeah, non-rectangular wrap/runaround is tricky. It gets into a "more art than science" area. Obviously you've already been playing with manually tweaking the empty frames that you're running around. I'm not sure you can get much better with this approach.

One idea that comes to mind is using separate text frames for the little tags. You can then lay those out manually, exactly where you want, and programmatically populate them. Or you could write your own code to move the frames, though that requires composing via Producer or Server (unless you do some tricks with table cells, though that's less straightforward than just setting the x and y positions on frames).
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 30th, 2020, 12:07 AM
jimmyhartington jimmyhartington is offline
Regular Contributor
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 65
Default Re: FPRepeatableComponent and textwrap

The problem with this is that the amount of content on each side can vary from 11-14 items, so the tabs should not always be in front of the same place.

Thanks for your input.
__________________
Kind regards Jimmy Hartington

-------
Happy MarcomCentral® customer - OS version: macOS 10.15.7 - Acrobat DC - FusionPro version: 11.2.1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.