Graphic to change according to value

david.young

I have a document that contains overflow pages, depending on how many pages are created a graphic on the page needs to change.

Page one no problem regardless of number of pages created.

Page 2 seems to work as well for a 2 or 3 page doc. Heres the rule placed on overflow page 1

if (StringToNumber(Field("NumTransactions")) <= 68)

{

return Resource("OMR_2.pdf");

}

else

{

return Resource("OMR_1.pdf");

}

return "";

When a second overflow pages is needed the rule used does not change the graphic correctly. Here's the rule for overflow page 2

if ((StringToNumber(Field("NumTransactions")) > 68) && (StringToNumber(Field("NumTransactions")) <= 102))

{

return Resource("OMR_2.pdf");

}

else

{

}

return "";

What's wrong with the logic I am using?

Thanks

Dave Young

FP 5.8 Windows XP

I am a bit of a novice, but I am guessing that the first part of your rule does not need the "Else" statement.

I think that Fusion Pro does not see any of your rule past that first "Else" statement because it covers all scenarios.

Not sure how to explain it, hope I am making sense.

To test it, just remove:

else

{

}

return "";

Thanks for the suggestion but as soon as I remove that line and click validate it errors with "Function does not return a value"

I did try something this morning, in Preview Record Selector palatte I scrolled to the first record that should have three pages. The value of NumTransactions is 97. At this point I went to the rules editor and tried to validate the rule for page three and it validated and said it should return OMR 2.

But when I compose a pdf that same record is incorrect OMR 1 is used.

Any more ideas?

I just re-read your rule. What is the different results desired between the first section of the rule and the second? They both seem to be returning the result of OMR_2.pdf.

It seems redundant to me.

1st section is saying: if number is less than or equal to 68, return OMR_2.pdf.