Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Software-Related Talk > The JavaScript Library > Tables & Charts

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 2nd, 2010, 09:56 AM
DSweet's Avatar
DSweet DSweet is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oberlin, Ohio
Posts: 253
Default Possible bug in Tables using margin settings

Hello,

I'm doing a project that needs to have tables flow from one page to another. I'm coding the tables within a rule using the data dynamically from the data file. Here is my code
Code:
var strVal = "";
strVal += '<table columns = 3 alignment = "left" HeaderShading="Black,10" Margins="top:70;bottom:10"';
strVal += 'BoxRules="top:medium,Black;bottom:thin,Black" cell rules="top:thin,Black;bottom:thin,Black">';
strVal += '<column width = 23200>';
strVal += '<column width = 7200>';
strVal += '<column width = 19800>';
strVal += '<row type = "header"><cell><f Name="Minion Pro Bold">Executive Programs<f Name="Minion Pro"><cell><cell>';
if (ToUpper(Trim(Field("EAF"))) == "Y")  {
    strVal += '<row><cell>Executive Auto Program<cell><cell>Maximum up to $20,000 per year';
}
if (StringToNumber(Trim(Field("EPCE"))) > 0)  {
    strVal += '<row><cell>Executive Physical<cell><cell>$' + Field("EPCE") + ' value per year';
}
if (StringToNumber(Trim(Field("EFCE"))) > 0)  {
    strVal += '<row><cell>Executive Financial Planning<cell><cell>$' + Field("EFCE") + ' value per year';
}
if (StringToNumber(Trim(Field("ELB"))) > 0)  {
    strVal += '<row><cell>Executive Life Insurance<cell>Volume:<cell>$' + Field("ELB") + ' (3 x annual base pay)';
}
if (StringToNumber(Trim(Field("ELTDB"))) > 0)  {
    strVal += '<row><cell>Executive Long-Term Disability<cell>Volume:<cell>$' + Field("ELTDB") +' per month';
}
strVal += '<row><cell>Air Travel Lounge<cell><cell>Maximum $500 annually';
strVal += '</table><p>';
return strVal;
I've coded the Margins to default at 70 (top) and 10 (bottom) within the main table definition section. These settings give me enough of a margin and the top and bottom to make the type appear to be nearly centered within the table row. I've attached a sample of the output that is created when a table flows from one page to the next. Notice that the margins are correct at the top and then they seem to be dropped when the same table flows to page two. All the conditions are working correctly and the header is repeated as it should be on the second page, however all the type is now touching the bottom line. I've even tried to code the margins within each cell definition, but I get the same results.

I'm not using an OverFlow page for this but just linking the two text boxes together with the "Connect TextFrame" link button on the toolbar.

Is this a bug, or have I missed something?
.
__________________
David A. Sweet
Variable Data Specialist
HKM Direct Market Communications
Windows 7, Acrobat 10.x
FusionPro Desktop and Server 10.0.26

Last edited by DSweet; February 8th, 2018 at 10:50 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old August 2nd, 2010, 11:20 AM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,655
Default Re: Possible bug in Tables using margin settings

It's hard to tell what's going on without seeing the job. You might want to check (or uncheck) the "Use legacy line leading" box on the Global Paragraph Settings dialog and see if that makes a difference.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 22nd, 2012, 10:37 AM
gandalf98 gandalf98 is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 20
Default Re: Possible bug in Tables using margin settings

I just figured this one out... the margin settings are reversed. You want margin at the Top? Set it in bottom. You want margins at the Left? Set it in right. Go figure.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 13th, 2015, 02:19 PM
dennis.wolfers dennis.wolfers is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 24
Default Re: Possible bug in Tables using margin settings

The reversal of Left and Right margins appears to be true in the Table Object too. WTF!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 13th, 2015, 04:49 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,655
Default Re: Possible bug in Tables using margin settings

Quote:
Originally Posted by dennis.wolfers View Post
The reversal of Left and Right margins appears to be true in the Table Object too. WTF!
This is fixed in FusionPro 9.3, although there's a compatibility mode so that older jobs compose the same "wrong" way. This is controlled by the Leading Mode on the Paragraph Globals dialog. If you select "FusionPro 9.3", that will make the left and right margins work properly (un-reversed), and will also fix up some other table leading issues. "FusionPro 3.1" is the older leading that you used to get if you didn't have Legacy Leading checked, and "Legacy" leading is what it's always been.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.