Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Software-Related Talk > FusionPro® VDP Creator > Imposition

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old June 3rd, 2014, 11:34 AM
dreimer dreimer is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Shakopee, MN
Posts: 495
Default Re: Variable Slug Placement

I apologize for being real dumb here but I can't get the $impositionsheetnumber and $impositiontotalsheets variables to work in a text box. I tried adding the << and >> but it looks at it as literal text.

I also tried using the a javascript rule using FusionPro.Composition.impositionSheetNumber and FusionPro.Composition.impositionTotalSheets but not sure how to get the syntax to work.
__________________
Don Reimer - JavaScript Novice

MAC OS 10.14.6 Acrobat DC FP Creator 12.0.1
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old June 3rd, 2014, 11:43 AM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,671
Default Re: Variable Slug Placement

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreimer View Post
I apologize for being real dumb here but I can't get the $impositionsheetnumber and $impositiontotalsheets variables to work in a text box. I tried adding the << and >> but it looks at it as literal text.
Paste "$impositionsheetnumber" (without the quotes) into the Variable drop-down combo/edit box and then click the Insert button.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreimer View Post
I also tried using the a javascript rule using FusionPro.Composition.impositionSheetNumber and FusionPro.Composition.impositionTotalSheets but not sure how to get the syntax to work.
Something like this:
Code:
return "Sheet " + FusionPro.Composition.impositionSheetNumber + " of " + FusionPro.Composition.impositionTotalSheets;
You probably need to check the "Re-evaluate this rule for every text flow" box as well.

The sample job posted earlier in this thread has examples of most of what you need to do.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old June 3rd, 2014, 12:10 PM
dreimer dreimer is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Shakopee, MN
Posts: 495
Default Re: Variable Slug Placement

OK, those both work perfectly.

Onto the next problem I need to figure out! This one may not work. Is there a way to also pull from the data the description (it is in a data field in my source data) for the first and last page that goes onto each imposed sheet? So for example, can I pull from a data field the description for record 1 and 70 and populate that on my template page to the imposed sheet 1, then pull data from the same field for records 71 and 140 to go on imposed sheet 2? I don't think this would be possible but you never know?

Thank you for your patience!
__________________
Don Reimer - JavaScript Novice

MAC OS 10.14.6 Acrobat DC FP Creator 12.0.1

Last edited by dreimer; June 3rd, 2014 at 12:17 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old June 3rd, 2014, 01:05 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,671
Default Re: Variable Slug Placement

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreimer View Post
Onto the next problem I need to figure out! This one may not work. Is there a way to also pull from the data the description (it is in a data field in my source data) for the first and last page that goes onto each imposed sheet? So for example, can I pull from a data field the description for record 1 and 70 and populate that on my template page to the imposed sheet 1, then pull data from the same field for records 71 and 140 to go on imposed sheet 2? I don't think this would be possible but you never know?
I don't think there's an easy way to do this. If you call out a regular data field variable in a text frame on the Template imposition sheet background page, I believe the value will be from the "first" (although not necessarily the "top left") record on the sheet. But I don't know if there's a way to access the data from the "last" record on the sheet.

There probably is some tricky way to accomplish it, but I think that's beyond what can be done in the context of this forum.

You might want to consider redesigning the job to do a manual type of imposition, by outputting Repeatable Components into frames on a Body page, or maybe with a table, and reading in the data with ExternalDataFileEx, which would give you arbitrary (random) access into the data.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old June 3rd, 2014, 01:12 PM
dreimer dreimer is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Shakopee, MN
Posts: 495
Default Re: Variable Slug Placement

Kind of figured that. I think I have a decent enough workaround by configuring the data a little differently upfront. I will just use the imposed file as my new FP template and impose that one with additional text boxes. Won't need the code you gave me previously, but I will for sure use that code for other things.

Thanks again!
__________________
Don Reimer - JavaScript Novice

MAC OS 10.14.6 Acrobat DC FP Creator 12.0.1
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old October 27th, 2014, 03:10 PM
dreimer dreimer is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Shakopee, MN
Posts: 495
Default Re: Variable Slug Placement

I can't get the "impositionTotalSheets" to work. When I compose I get the impositionsheetnumber to count correctly but the total always returns 0. So I end up with 1 of 0, 2 of 0, 3 of 0, and so on.

Any ideas doesn't matter how many records I try.
__________________
Don Reimer - JavaScript Novice

MAC OS 10.14.6 Acrobat DC FP Creator 12.0.1
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old October 27th, 2014, 04:11 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,671
Default Re: Variable Slug Placement

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreimer View Post
I can't get the "impositionTotalSheets" to work. When I compose I get the impositionsheetnumber to count correctly but the total always returns 0. So I end up with 1 of 0, 2 of 0, 3 of 0, and so on.

Any ideas doesn't matter how many records I try.
You said that both properties were working perfectly back in June. What changed? I'll bet that you're no longer using a stacked imposition template, so the preprocessing required to set impositionTotalSheets isn't being invoked. To invoke preprocessing and set that value, you can either go back to using a stacked imposition, or add this line to OnJobStart:
Code:
FusionPro.Composition.forcePreprocessing = true;
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old October 27th, 2014, 04:16 PM
dreimer dreimer is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Shakopee, MN
Posts: 495
Default Re: Variable Slug Placement

I know I was thinking this was going to work for a new job today and no luck. Thanks for the response and I will give that a try.
__________________
Don Reimer - JavaScript Novice

MAC OS 10.14.6 Acrobat DC FP Creator 12.0.1
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old October 27th, 2014, 04:19 PM
dreimer dreimer is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Shakopee, MN
Posts: 495
Default Re: Variable Slug Placement

Looks like that did it, thanks!!
__________________
Don Reimer - JavaScript Novice

MAC OS 10.14.6 Acrobat DC FP Creator 12.0.1
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old January 3rd, 2018, 11:53 AM
DSweet's Avatar
DSweet DSweet is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oberlin, Ohio
Posts: 253
Default Re: Variable Slug Placement

Have an additional request to this ... not quite sure if it's totally related though ...

I'm using the saddle stitch imposition scheme and I would like FusionPro to output the sheet number for each signature of the booklet that is being produced. There are 12 pages in the booklet in all and I would like something like "Impo sheet 1 of 3", "Impo sheet 2 of 3", "Impo sheet 3 of 3" to appear on the bottom of one side of the 6 sheets that the saddle stitch output pdf will contain. That way even if there are no page numbers in the actual document that is being printed, trimmed and stitched our bindery will still know the correct order. Getting the tag line to print only on one side was simple enough but they all say "Impo sheet 1 of 1" for all three sections. Am I missing something?

I've placed this in the text box on the imposition sheet
Code:
Impo sheet: «$impositionsheetnumber» of «$impositiontotalsheets»
I've also included the rule to preprocess the count. However since there is only one record I don't know if that is even necessary except for the rule to count the imposition sheets.
.
__________________
David A. Sweet
Variable Data Specialist
HKM Direct Market Communications
Windows 7, Acrobat 10.x
FusionPro Desktop and Server 10.0.26
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.