Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Software-Related Talk > The JavaScript Library > Tables & Charts

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 19th, 2014, 01:20 PM
dreimer dreimer is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Shakopee, MN
Posts: 469
Default Max Height For a row

Is there a way to define the max height for a row in a table? I have some data that has many characters and even if I figure out how to use a copyfit in my table rule, I am not sure it will make the font small enough. So I was wondering if I let it wrap, can I keep the next row from dropping down a space. TIA

To be clear, the table is flowing into existing artwork that has each row one inch high. So if row 1 starts at Y coordinate of 1 and needs to copyfit or wrap, I still need row 2 to start at Y coordinate 2. Also, this is running using an external data source.
__________________
Don Reimer - JavaScript Novice

MAC OS 10.12.5 Acrobat XI 11.0.0 FP Creator 10.0.16
Windows 7 Acrobat X 10.1.4 FP Creator 9.3.9

Last edited by dreimer; August 19th, 2014 at 01:38 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old August 19th, 2014, 02:00 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,361
Default Re: Max Height For a row

There is a minimum row height, but there's no maximum row height. The table row will always grow as needed.

That said, you can certainly use text measurement to implement some kind of copyfitting for text in a table cell.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old September 12th, 2014, 11:23 AM
DSweet's Avatar
DSweet DSweet is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oberlin, Ohio
Posts: 240
Default Re: Max Height For a row

Dan,

After the table is fully built, is there anyway of determining the finished height (from header-to-footer) of the entire table structure in points?
.
__________________
David A. Sweet
Variable Data Specialist
HKM Direct Market Communications
Windows 7, Acrobat 10.x
FusionPro Desktop and Server 10.0.26
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old September 12th, 2014, 01:42 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,361
Default Re: Max Height For a row

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSweet View Post
Dan,

After the table is fully built, is there anyway of determining the finished height (from header-to-footer) of the entire table structure in points?
.
Unfortunately, there is not. Text Measurement doesn't work on tables.

What is it that you're trying to accomplish? There might be another way to do it.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old September 12th, 2014, 02:37 PM
DSweet's Avatar
DSweet DSweet is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oberlin, Ohio
Posts: 240
Default Re: Max Height For a row

The problem is related to the "Widows not working as expected" thread that I started. According to Alex there is a bug in FP when "keep with next paragraph" is flowing from one text linked frame to another. It's been pushed to your Engineers and I have a case number for it.

My current problem arises from having to force-code a rule to break to the next page using a work-around that Alex suggested
Code:
'<page destination="TopOfColumn">'
after a variable length table that is being translated from English to Spanish for some letters. I put this rule in front of a paragraph that I need to break to the next page. However when that table grows to a certain length the table itself will flow from one linked textbox to the other. When that tag-rule is then used it is looking for "the next page" which doesn't exist and then rest of the letter is being dropped.

When I am doing this in an English version of the document every item that is being added to the table is ONLY one line long and everything is easy-peasy. By just counting the number of rows in the table as I build it I know how far down the table grows and when to turn on or off different rules to properly "force break" the paragraphs as needed.

The "Spanish"-fly-in-my-ointment is when these items are being translated to Spanish some of the item names are two, three and even four lines long. The table still builds correctly and puts the items in the proper fitting rows...but the row height has now changed so if something fit when it was 10 items in English, the same 10 items in Spanish would wrap completely different.

I've uploaded an example with data that I made up forcing what I'm referring to. The very first item (Reparación de Calefacción...) in the table is actually just a single item that stretches that cell down four lines. Other items can stretch the cell to 2 or 3 lines while others are just one.

The first record shown on pages 1 and 2 flows properly from page 1 to page 2 because the table doesn't fill the first page. The table created from record 2 starts on page 3 and flows over to the linked second page of the document (page 4) and therefore the force top of page rule is now looking for an additional page to flow the remaining paragraph into. That page won't exist.

I can't count on the items for any Spanish version to be one line or even always 2 or 3 lines each time. There is a list of over 200 items that are being variably selected in the data file and of those over 20 of them are more than one line in length for the chart. A Spanish chart could contain all 1-line-items, or any combination of 2- to 3-liners or more.

It's truly in every sense of the word a "variable" length chart!

Once your Engineers fix the bug I found everything should be fine, but I have no idea as to when that might be and I can't go back to my customer ans simply say we can't do that because of the software we use.
__________________
David A. Sweet
Variable Data Specialist
HKM Direct Market Communications
Windows 7, Acrobat 10.x
FusionPro Desktop and Server 10.0.26

Last edited by DSweet; February 8th, 2018 at 11:50 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old August 24th, 2017, 07:34 AM
merski007 merski007 is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 24
Default Re: Max Height For a row

Hello,

Did engineering ever fix the bug? I'm having the same issue for a beer menu I'm working on. I need the ability to determine a final page count so I don't send blank pages to press.

Cheers,
Mark
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old August 28th, 2017, 02:32 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,361
Default Re: Max Height For a row

Quote:
Originally Posted by merski007 View Post
Did engineering ever fix the bug? I'm having the same issue for a beer menu I'm working on. I need the ability to determine a final page count so I don't send blank pages to press.
I'm not sure there's really a bug here per se, nor how it may be manifested in your job, but in FusionPro 10, you can use the OnPagesInserted rule to determine how many total pages were output for the record:
http://forums.pti.com/showthread.php?t=4630
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old August 28th, 2017, 02:40 PM
merski007 merski007 is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 24
Default Re: Max Height For a row

Thanks Dan. I'll give that a try.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.