How to Properly Link a .txt file and define Fields

Ok, so im pretty new at FusionPro. I've done quite a few jobs here and there, most basic but some pretty extensive.

So far I've only used .csv excel type files as my data source. Now I have a large customer and that wants me to do some signage for them and they have sent me a .txt file that has all of the data for the signs. I can't figure out how to "properly" linked the data file, ie flat file, delimited or what; and I don't know how to define the fields so the .pdf sign templates can be populated.

They also need to be printed by sign type and store number and so they need to be organized in a way that this would be possible. I'm not sure where to even begin with this. Any help is greatly appreciated and needed.

Thanks

JCrocker

A .txt file could be anything, so you need to start with how the data is actually arranged in the file. What is separating the fields? Are there commas, tabs, pipes (looks like |), or even tildes (~)? This would be a delimited file.

Another possibility is fixed length (there are extra spaces so that each column of data always starts in the same position).

Example:

Number     FirstName         LastName
0001       John              Doe
0002       Sample            Sample

Depending on how the data file is structured and how much sorting/arranging has to be done, you may have to do some additional processing before sending through FP.

JCrocker,

You need to look at the TXT file and see what the delimiter is. Delimiter, just mean seperator, so how are the fields and values separated? In a CSV file it is comma separated values (CSV). TXT files can use comma, tabs, semi-colon or other delimiters. When you define your data, select: Specify data source > Flat File (Delimited) > Set the appropriate delimiter, in most cases the first row contains the field names (if not you will need to define them). Then navigate to and select the TXT file.