Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Software-Related Talk > The JavaScript Library

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 13th, 2014, 02:54 PM
randomhello randomhello is offline
Forum n00b
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5
Default Using repeatrecordcount & imposition

using OnRecordStart:
FusionPro.Composition.repeatRecordCount=Field("REP EATCOUNT")

where REPEATCOUNT record 1 = 100, record 2 = 32, record 3 = 45; etc.

But also using 3-up imposition (8.5x3.5" on Letter) with a Vertical 3 and Duplicate turned On.

End result is that I'm getting triplicate of what I need of course. I need 100 versions of rec 1, 32 of rec 2, 45 of rec 3, but I want to print 3-up. Based on other threads I've read, seems like you cant co-mingle RepeatRecordCount and Imposition successfully. Main idea is that the count is variable, so really best to do this with a rule as opposed to setting the Stack amount in Imposer everytime. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 13th, 2014, 03:26 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,361
Default Re: Using repeatrecordcount & imposition

I'm not sure I understand exactly what you want in the output, but it sounds like you want to start a new stack for every input record. You can do that by adding this logic to the OnRecordStart rule:
Code:
if (FusionPro.Composition.repeatRecordNumber == 1)
    FusionPro.Composition.StartNewStack();
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 14th, 2014, 05:01 AM
randomhello randomhello is offline
Forum n00b
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5
Default Re: Using repeatrecordcount & imposition

Yes, startnewstack is intended, but the issue I'm having is with the mix of impo + repeat. I am getting 3x as many records as I want. So for instance, if rec1 repeats 100x, the 3x impo makes is actually result in 300x. And this makes sense... the impo is not aware of the repeatrecord and vice versa, so they're simply performing their respective task independent of each other.

I think I may have answered my own question however. Based on some other threads it seems like I'll probably have to use some math to divide my repeat count by the n-up value, so 100/3 for instance.

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 14th, 2014, 09:21 AM
step's Avatar
step step is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 955
Default Re: Using repeatrecordcount & imposition

Quote:
Originally Posted by randomhello View Post
using OnRecordStart:
But also using 3-up imposition (8.5x3.5" on Letter) with a Vertical 3 and Duplicate turned On.
Why do you have "duplicated" turned on in your imposition if you don't want your records duplicated 3 times across the sheet?
__________________
Ste Pennell
FusionPro VDP Creator 9.3.15
Adobe Acrobat X 10.1.1
Mac OS X 10.12

LinkedIn
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 15th, 2014, 04:50 AM
randomhello randomhello is offline
Forum n00b
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 5
Default Re: Using repeatrecordcount & imposition

I need the records duplicated across the sheet instead of a cut/stack setup because of the variable number of times each 'ticket' will be printed. it makes more sense to have a 3-up sheet of the same info than to have a stack imposition.

the answer to my problem was to divide the repeat count by the imposition count and round up to the nearest full integer:

var COUNT = Field("SHIPCOUNT")/3;
var ROUNDUP = Math.ceil(COUNT)
FusionPro.Composition.repeatRecordCount=ROUNDUP
if (FusionPro.Composition.repeatRecordNumber == 1)
FusionPro.Composition.StartNewStack();
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
imposer, repeatrecordcount

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.