Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Software-Related Talk > The JavaScript Library > Barcodes

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old August 22nd, 2013, 08:15 AM
KatJones KatJones is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 22
Default Need help creating an IMB using Numbers

I need assistance in creating a IMB that passes postal regulations using numbers, not ALPHA characters.

I have very little knowledge about mail/postal software, so any assistance would be appreciated. My data processing department no longer wants to use the ALPHA character field (ONECODE) and wants to start using the IMBDIGITS field.
__________________
FP 9.1.0 Producer, Windows Server 2008 R2, Acrobat 10.1.9
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old August 22nd, 2013, 09:12 AM
dreimer dreimer is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Shakopee, MN
Posts: 469
Default Re: Need help creating an IMB using Numbers

I normally use the alpha myself, but if using digits I think you can use the built in rule from Fusion Pro and just have the first field in the wizard be your entire string and leave the rest of the fields blank. I haven't tested this though.

Just tested it and it works. You will get an error message because you supplied everything in one field though. Just remove the first If statement after you convert the rule to javascript and the error message will no longer appear.
__________________
Don Reimer - JavaScript Novice

MAC OS 10.12.5 Acrobat XI 11.0.0 FP Creator 10.0.16
Windows 7 Acrobat X 10.1.4 FP Creator 9.3.9

Last edited by dreimer; August 22nd, 2013 at 09:25 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old August 22nd, 2013, 09:47 AM
KatJones KatJones is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 22
Default Re: Need help creating an IMB using Numbers

Okay, thanks. I will try it out.
__________________
FP 9.1.0 Producer, Windows Server 2008 R2, Acrobat 10.1.9
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old August 22nd, 2013, 10:05 AM
dreimer dreimer is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Shakopee, MN
Posts: 469
Default Re: Need help creating an IMB using Numbers

I should point out, the rule uses the "IDAutomation4STATE" font. The font I use when just applying a font to my alpha string is "USPSIMBStandard". They do not look exactly the same and I prefer the "USPSIMBStandard" font. You may have to adjust tracking as well with the numbered string, my first test didn't pass, lines to spaced out and to thin as well. Make sure you test!!
__________________
Don Reimer - JavaScript Novice

MAC OS 10.12.5 Acrobat XI 11.0.0 FP Creator 10.0.16
Windows 7 Acrobat X 10.1.4 FP Creator 9.3.9
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old August 22nd, 2013, 12:28 PM
KatJones KatJones is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 22
Default Re: Need help creating an IMB using Numbers

Using USPSIMBStandard doesn't yield anything visible to a numerical string.
__________________
FP 9.1.0 Producer, Windows Server 2008 R2, Acrobat 10.1.9
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old August 22nd, 2013, 12:29 PM
dreimer dreimer is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Shakopee, MN
Posts: 469
Default Re: Need help creating an IMB using Numbers

Correct, that font only works when applying it to your alpha string.
__________________
Don Reimer - JavaScript Novice

MAC OS 10.12.5 Acrobat XI 11.0.0 FP Creator 10.0.16
Windows 7 Acrobat X 10.1.4 FP Creator 9.3.9
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old August 23rd, 2013, 07:02 AM
DSweet's Avatar
DSweet DSweet is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oberlin, Ohio
Posts: 240
Default Re: Need help creating an IMB using Numbers

Good morning.

I've used this javascript coding which is an edited form of the base wizard rule that is in FusionPro...
Code:
if (Trim(Field("Intelligent Mail barcode")) != "")  {
Var1="Intelligent Mail barcode";
Var2="";
Var3="16";
v_tracking="0";
v_font="USPS4CB";
fontTag="0";
Var4="FATD";


if (Var2 != "")
{
  if ((Field(Var2).length != 0) && (Field(Var2).length != 5) && (Field(Var2).length != 9) && (Field(Var2).length != 11))
    ReportWarning("The routing number is not the correct length of 0, 5, 9, or 11 characters in record number " + CurrentRecordNumber() + ".");
  RoutingNum=Field(Var2);
}
else
    RoutingNum="";
 
if (fontTag == "0")
  fontTag=false;
else
  fontTag=true;
    
var imbOut = '<tracking newsize="' + v_tracking + '">' + MakeOneCodeBarcode(Field(Var1), RoutingNum, Var3, fontTag, v_font, Var4) + "</tracking>"; 
return imbOut
//return ReplaceSubstring(imbOut, '<z newsize="16">', '<z newsize="16"><setwidth newsize="15.5">')
}
else  {
    return "";
}
You would simply need to edit the field markers to match what you are using. The second return feature that I have commented out is used when I need to shrink the width of the imb coding slightly.

The font that I use is called USPS4CB, but I do believe that this could work for any font as long as you use the name of it here. Also remember to check the tagged text feature for this rule.

Hope this helps.
.
__________________
David A. Sweet
Variable Data Specialist
HKM Direct Market Communications
Windows 7, Acrobat 10.x
FusionPro Desktop and Server 10.0.26
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
barcode, fonts, intelligent mail barcode

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.