Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Software-Related Talk > FusionPro® VDP Creator

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 14th, 2010, 10:16 AM
dyoung520 dyoung520 is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Saint Louis
Posts: 11
Default FusionProTextMeasure and Tables

I have one text box that contains multiple tables created outside FP. The tables are transactions and can vary in the number of rows. I'm attempting to use FusionProTextMeasure to determine the amount of vertical space required by each table, sum them, and then determine if an overflow page will be used. The following code was my test...

var tm = new FusionProTextMeasure;
tm.CalculateTextExtent(Field("PaymentsTable"));
var astring = 'Messages:' + tm.messages + ' Width:' + tm.textWidth + ' Height:' + tm.textHeight;
return astring;


I get a value for width. However no value is returned for the height.

I think my question should be can TextMeasure be used on FP-XML fields that represent tables?

Thanks!
Dan
__________________
FusionPro Desktop 6.2P1a
Acrobat 9 Pro
Windows 7 64
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 14th, 2010, 01:49 PM
dyoung520 dyoung520 is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Saint Louis
Posts: 11
Default Re: FusionProTextMeasure and Tables

Can textLines be related to the height of a text frame?

I'm just trying things...


var tm = new FusionProTextMeasure;
var frame = FindTextFrame("DetailTables");

tm.maxWidth = frame.width;

tm.CalculateTextExtent(Field("ContractTable"));
var total = tm.textLines;
tm.CalculateTextExtent(Field("TransactionsHeader") );
total = total + tm.textLines;
tm.CalculateTextExtent(Field("PaymentsTable"));
total = total + tm.textLines;
tm.CalculateTextExtent(Field("PurchasesTable"));
total = total + tm.textLines;
tm.CalculateTextExtent(Field("FeesTable"));
total = total + tm.textLines;
tm.CalculateTextExtent(Field("InterestChargeTable" ));
total = total + tm.textLines;
tm.CalculateTextExtent(Field("YTDTable"));
total = total + tm.textLines;
tm.CalculateTextExtent(Field("InterestTable"));
total = total + tm.textLines;

var astring = 'Lines:' + total + ' FrameH:' + frame.height;

return astring;

Results: Lines:2198 FrameH:39572
__________________
FusionPro Desktop 6.2P1a
Acrobat 9 Pro
Windows 7 64

Last edited by dyoung520; July 14th, 2010 at 02:02 PM.. Reason: to make it better
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 14th, 2010, 02:55 PM
dyoung520 dyoung520 is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Saint Louis
Posts: 11
Default Re: FusionProTextMeasure and Tables

through trial and error I managed to figure out that the text frame could handle up to 2948 lines before requiring an overpage. wish I understood this a little better.
__________________
FusionPro Desktop 6.2P1a
Acrobat 9 Pro
Windows 7 64
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 15th, 2010, 01:14 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is online now
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,359
Default Re: FusionProTextMeasure and Tables

Quote:
Originally Posted by dyoung520 View Post
I think my question should be can TextMeasure be used on FP-XML fields that represent tables?
Unfortunately, the answer is No. Text Measurement only works with "regular" flows of text, not with things like tables and inline graphics.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 15th, 2010, 01:44 PM
dyoung520 dyoung520 is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Saint Louis
Posts: 11
Default Re: FusionProTextMeasure and Tables

Thank You.

Can you explain textLines?

Through trial and error I believe I'm correctly determining when an overflow page is being used. The value returned does appear to increase in size in conjunction with the table size.

-Dan Young
__________________
FusionPro Desktop 6.2P1a
Acrobat 9 Pro
Windows 7 64
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fusionprotextmeasure, overflow, tables, textmeasure

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.