Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Software-Related Talk > The JavaScript Library > Formatting Text

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old May 20th, 2010, 12:44 PM
ksulliv1 ksulliv1 is offline
Regular Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 71
Default Re: Character Spacing

So then there is no way that anyone knows of to write a rule for a specific field that sets both custom tracking and custom leading at the same time, like is shown in the example PDF above?
__________________
Kent Sullivan /FusionPro Desktop 7.2/Acrobat Professional 10/Win7 Professional 32bit
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old May 21st, 2010, 06:27 AM
esmith's Avatar
esmith esmith is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 870
Default Re: Character Spacing

My suggestion would be to make graphics for the static "OFFICE", "CELL" and "MAIL" text with the height of the file equal to the height of the variable text and the text centered top to bottom in the graphic. Then add the graphics as inline graphics to the text frame using rules to return the proper graphics based on content of their related fields. Don't forget to add consistent spacing to the sides of the static text in your graphics since the variable text will bump up against the edge of the inline graphics.
__________________
Eric Smith
Content Developer
Classic
FP 9.3.6, MAC OSX 10.9.4, Acrobat 11.0.09
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old May 21st, 2010, 07:22 AM
ksulliv1 ksulliv1 is offline
Regular Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 71
Default Re: Character Spacing

Ok I see what you're getting at. That's kind of a creative way of addressing it, and I'll have to give it a try. I appreciate your help.
__________________
Kent Sullivan /FusionPro Desktop 7.2/Acrobat Professional 10/Win7 Professional 32bit
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old May 21st, 2010, 10:22 AM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,369
Default Re: Character Spacing

Quote:
Originally Posted by ksulliv1 View Post
So then there is no way that anyone knows of to write a rule for a specific field that sets both custom tracking and custom leading at the same time, like is shown in the example PDF above?
All you need to do is put the labels (OFFICE, CELL, MAIL) in superscript in the Variable Text Editor. You can tweak the superscript ratio and offset in the Global Paragraph Settings dialog without writing any additional rules.

Or, you can set the ratio and offset on a per-paragraph basis with the attributes of the <p> tag. Something like this:
Code:
return '<p br=false quad=C superratio=60 superoffset=20>' +
        '<color name="Blue"><superscript>OFFICE</superscript></color>&#32;<tracking newsize=50>' + NormalizeEntities(Field("PhoneType1")) + '</tracking>&#32;' +
        '<color name="Blue"><superscript>CELL</superscript></color>&#32;<tracking newsize=50>' + NormalizeEntities(Field("PhoneType2")) + '</tracking>&#32;' +
        '<color name="Blue"><superscript>MAIL</superscript></color>&#32;<tracking newsize=50>' + NormalizeEntities(Field("Address1")) + '</tracking>';
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old May 21st, 2010, 01:47 PM
ksulliv1 ksulliv1 is offline
Regular Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 71
Default Re: Character Spacing

Yeah I tried the super/sub script deal in the text editor and it does work for what I was trying to do, however once I do, it seems to completely negate the tracking rule I had set up for those variables. So the position is correct horizontal but for the labels but the extra tracking is gone.

I will have to see if I can manage an understanding of your second option, and try that.

Thanks,
__________________
Kent Sullivan /FusionPro Desktop 7.2/Acrobat Professional 10/Win7 Professional 32bit
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.