Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Software-Related Talk > The JavaScript Library > Barcodes

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old July 10th, 2012, 12:56 PM
ChrisPierce ChrisPierce is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Aiken, S.C.
Posts: 15
Default Intelligent Mail Barcode Rule problem

Greetings. I am having an issue using the IMBarcode Rule.

Currently I'm using Bell+Howell Mail Manager LE to generate the delimited file used by FusionPro to lay out my mailing pieces.

My problem is, when I get to the point of inserting the Intelligent Mail Barcode Rule, and I get it to use the ZIP information, a barcode isn't generated. It only displays {Intelligent Mail Barcode Rule} in the space when its previewed.

I'm not sure if the Bell+Howell Mail Manager can export the info needed for the IMBarcode, or if its something I need to make FusionPro generate on its own. And I'm not even sure how to do that. Its Day One for me using this software.

Any help would be much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old July 10th, 2012, 01:45 PM
dreimer dreimer is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Shakopee, MN
Posts: 495
Default Re: Intelligent Mail Barcode Rule problem

If you output the IMB from Mail Manager as Alpha Characters you can just insert that field into your layout and apply the USPSIMBStandard font.
__________________
Don Reimer - JavaScript Novice

MAC OS 10.14.6 Acrobat DC FP Creator 12.0.1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old July 10th, 2012, 01:52 PM
ChrisPierce ChrisPierce is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Aiken, S.C.
Posts: 15
Default Re: Intelligent Mail Barcode Rule problem

Ah alright. Thanks very much. I'll have to look into that on the Bell+Howell side since thats not a pti software.

Thanks very much.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old July 10th, 2012, 01:53 PM
dreimer dreimer is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Shakopee, MN
Posts: 495
Default Re: Intelligent Mail Barcode Rule problem

Simple checkbox in Mail Manager in your label designer. Uncheck the output as digits.

I should be clear on this, I am not using the FP rule to generate the IMB, I'm just inserting the field from my data and applyinng the font.
__________________
Don Reimer - JavaScript Novice

MAC OS 10.14.6 Acrobat DC FP Creator 12.0.1

Last edited by dreimer; July 10th, 2012 at 02:00 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old July 10th, 2012, 01:54 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,638
Default Re: Intelligent Mail Barcode Rule problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisPierce View Post
My problem is, when I get to the point of inserting the Intelligent Mail Barcode Rule, and I get it to use the ZIP information, a barcode isn't generated. It only displays {Intelligent Mail Barcode Rule} in the space when its previewed.
In order to determine why the rule is failing, you either need to do a full composition (not a Preview), or convert the rule to JavaScript and validate it.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old July 11th, 2012, 06:18 AM
ChrisPierce ChrisPierce is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Aiken, S.C.
Posts: 15
Default Re: Intelligent Mail Barcode Rule problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreimer View Post
Simple checkbox in Mail Manager in your label designer. Uncheck the output as digits.

I should be clear on this, I am not using the FP rule to generate the IMB, I'm just inserting the field from my data and applyinng the font.
I went onto the Bell+Howell website and followed the instructions they have for printing a presorted output file from the BCC Mail Manager. There were no options for Alpha characters that I saw, after checking every tab and reading over everything.

I also tried what you suggested about applying the font to the field that BCC software generates, and nothing appears in the field when I preview or compose it. I apply the IDAutomation4State font.

Last edited by ChrisPierce; July 11th, 2012 at 06:21 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old July 11th, 2012, 06:20 AM
dreimer dreimer is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Shakopee, MN
Posts: 495
Default Re: Intelligent Mail Barcode Rule problem

Are you creating the file from the Presort using the label designer or are you exporting from outside the presort??
__________________
Don Reimer - JavaScript Novice

MAC OS 10.14.6 Acrobat DC FP Creator 12.0.1
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old July 11th, 2012, 06:25 AM
ChrisPierce ChrisPierce is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Aiken, S.C.
Posts: 15
Default Re: Intelligent Mail Barcode Rule problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreimer View Post
Are you creating the file from the Presort using the label designer or are you exporting from outside the presort??
I'm creating it from within the Presort window.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old July 11th, 2012, 06:29 AM
dreimer dreimer is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Shakopee, MN
Posts: 495
Default Re: Intelligent Mail Barcode Rule problem

So when you add the Intellignet Mail Barcode field into the label it should give you a pop up window to edit your properties, including services and Mailer ID. Towards the bottom there is a check box that says output digits. Make sure that is unchecked.
__________________
Don Reimer - JavaScript Novice

MAC OS 10.14.6 Acrobat DC FP Creator 12.0.1
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old July 11th, 2012, 06:32 AM
ChrisPierce ChrisPierce is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Aiken, S.C.
Posts: 15
Default Re: Intelligent Mail Barcode Rule problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreimer View Post
So when you add the Intellignet Mail Barcode field into the label it should give you a pop up window to edit your properties, including services and Mailer ID. Towards the bottom there is a check box that says output digits. Make sure that is unchecked.
Yes that is unchecked.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.