Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Software-Related Talk > The JavaScript Library > Getting Started, Learning, Etc.

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 11th, 2019, 07:59 AM
jpmiller jpmiller is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 19
Default For Loop Help

Hi, I am trying to get the loop below to run through the record count and execute different results based on the quantity.

The rule below never gets past the first if statement.
Not sure what I am doing wrong. Any help would be appreciated.

var nameFieldName = "first";
var data = new ExternalDataFileEx(PrimaryInputFile());
var totalRecs = data.recordCount;

for (i = 0; i < totalRecs; i++) {
if (totalRecs[i] = 5000) {
var recordsPerBox = (2500)
;
} else if ((totalRecs[i] > 2500) && (totalRecs[i] < 5000)) {
var recordsPerBox = Math.ceil(totalRecs[i] / 2)
;
} else (totalRecs[i] < 2500) {
var recordsPerBox = (totalRecs[i])
;
}
}


var numBoxes = Math.ceil(totalRecs / recordsPerBox);
FusionPro.Composition.repeatRecordCount = numBoxes;
var boxNum = FusionPro.Composition.repeatRecordNumber;
var boxStartRec = (boxNum - 1) * recordsPerBox + 1;
var boxEndRec = Math.min(boxNum * recordsPerBox, totalRecs);

FusionPro.Composition.AddVariable("totalRecs", totalRecs);
FusionPro.Composition.AddVariable("boxNum", boxNum);
FusionPro.Composition.AddVariable("numBoxes", numBoxes);
FusionPro.Composition.AddVariable("boxStartRec", boxStartRec);
FusionPro.Composition.AddVariable("boxEndRec", boxEndRec);
FusionPro.Composition.AddVariable("boxStartName", data.GetFieldValue(boxStartRec, nameFieldName));
FusionPro.Composition.AddVariable("boxEndName", data.GetFieldValue(boxEndRec, nameFieldName));
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 11th, 2019, 09:20 AM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,322
Default Re: For Loop Help

That totalRecs variable is simply a number, not an array, so there's nothing to iterate over in a for loop.

I'm not sure exactly what the requirements are that you're trying to meet with this code, but I think you want to do something like this:
Code:
var data = new ExternalDataFileEx(PrimaryInputFile());
var recordsPerBox = Math.ceil(data.recordCount / 2);
if (recordsPerBox < 2500)
    recordsPerBox = 2500;
Or just:
Code:
var data = new ExternalDataFileEx(PrimaryInputFile());
var recordsPerBox = Math.ceil(Math.max(data.recordCount, 5000) / 2);
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 11th, 2019, 11:07 AM
jpmiller jpmiller is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 19
Default Re: For Loop Help

[QUOTE=Dan Korn;21926]That totalRecs variable is simply a number, not an array, so there's nothing to iterate over in a for loop.

Thank you Dan. That helps. I was getting frustrated trying to figure out a formula that would loop through the totalRecs until zero. I understand my error now.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
for loop

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.