Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Software-Related Talk > The JavaScript Library

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 6th, 2017, 01:51 PM
jhaughey jhaughey is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 12
Default Ampersand problem

Been banging my head against the wall trying to resolve an issue with ampersands. Our client is creating a business card through Marcom which has an ampersand. The filed in question is also being forced to upper case. Usually we would create a rule with the code:

Quote:
if(CaseSelection == "allcaps")
Var1 = ReplaceSubstring("Title","&","&");
Var1 = ToUpper(Field(Var1));
return Var1
And that mostly works. Except that in this case the client is entering text that does not have spaces before and after the ampersand, and this is breaking.

When I check the "Treat as Tagged Text" box, the ampersand disappears. When I uncheck it I get the HTML "&" instead. I've looked at other threads here on similar topics, but have not been able to get anything to work.

Any advice?

Thanks,
John
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 6th, 2017, 03:04 PM
step's Avatar
step step is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 955
Default Re: Ampersand problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhaughey View Post
Usually we would create a rule with the code:
Code:
Var1 = ReplaceSubstring("Title","&","&");
This line of code isn't necessary. It is replacing every occurrence of "&" in the string "Title" with "&." Since there are no instances of "&" in "Title," you can remove that code.

I'm going to assume instead that you want to replace all instances of "&" in a field named "Title" with an ampersand. I think this will do what you want:
Code:
var title = RawTextFromTagged(Field("Title"));
if (CaseSelection == 'allcaps')
  title = ToUpper(title);
return title;
__________________
Ste Pennell
FusionPro VDP Creator 9.3.15
Adobe Acrobat X 10.1.1
Mac OS X 10.12

LinkedIn
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 7th, 2017, 07:33 AM
jhaughey jhaughey is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 12
Default Re: Ampersand problem

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 17th, 2018, 07:59 AM
gdellaiera gdellaiera is offline
Regular Contributor
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 78
Default Re: Ampersand problem

So if I wanted to make sure that all & display correctly, would I just enter the below for all fields?

Var1 = ReplaceSubstring("&","&");

I'm running into the issue of users entering & and it being replaced with "&" and I'm not sure how to fix it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 17th, 2018, 02:47 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,322
Default Re: Ampersand problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by step View Post
This line of code isn't necessary. It is replacing every occurrence of "&" in the string "Title" with "&." Since there are no instances of "&" in "Title," you can remove that code.

I'm going to assume instead that you want to replace all instances of "&" in a field named "Title" with an ampersand. I think this will do what you want:
Code:
var title = RawTextFromTagged(Field("Title"));
if (CaseSelection == 'allcaps')
  title = ToUpper(title);
return title;
In this case, if the field has no actual markup tags in it, you may want to use the UntaggedDataField function:
UntaggedDataField
Code:
var title = UntaggedDataField("Title");
if (CaseSelection == 'allcaps')
  title = ToUpper(title);
return title;
Like its sibling TaggedDataField, UntaggedDataField figures out whether the data field value is already tagged or not, and handles it appropriately.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.