Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Software-Related Talk > FusionPro® VDP Creator

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old April 1st, 2015, 05:57 AM
S_Black's Avatar
S_Black S_Black is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 23
Question Compose Multiple Output of non-fixed quantities

I am guessing that the Server is the only solution for me, but I would like to inquire in case there is an additional option. I have been working with the VDP Creator for about a month.

I currently have a single file with multiple markets, and each market needs to be it's own composition. I have seen questions answered that allow for Batch processing with Server that can bring in multiple inputs, and automate the composition. This will work, but what I would really like is to take a single data source and output multiple files based on a field.

For example I have a data file of 36,000. Within the file I have 67 different markets.
Market 1: 466 records
Market 2: 277 records
etc.

Is there a way to control the output files based on a field in the data source?

Output-Market1.pdf
Output-Market2.pdf
etc.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 1st, 2015, 07:00 AM
step's Avatar
step step is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 955
Default Re: Compose Multiple Output of non-fixed quantities

Sure you can do that from one data file. It's hard to give you examples specific to you without any knowledge of what your data looks like and what the contents of the field you're triggering off of are. At the very least, it would be helpful to know what version of FP you're running.

Generally speaking, if you have a field named "Market" that you're triggering off of and the contents of that field are the market that the specific record corresponds with, you could write an OnRecordStart callback rule that creates a new output file whenever that field changes (assuming you're running FP8 or later):
Code:
if (FieldChanged("Market"))
    FusionPro.Composition.OpenNewOutputFile("Output-" + Field("Market") + "." + FusionPro.Composition.outputFormatExtension);
Here are a couple of related threads that may help you:
Output Multiple Records Based on Data
Name Output Based on Data Field
Dynamic Chunking Based on Rule
__________________
Ste Pennell
FusionPro VDP Creator 9.3.15
Adobe Acrobat X 10.1.1
Mac OS X 10.12

LinkedIn
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 1st, 2015, 01:53 PM
S_Black's Avatar
S_Black S_Black is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 23
Default Re: Compose Multiple Output of non-fixed quantities

Thank you step. The Callback Rule works perfectly. It's is a huge time-saver.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old May 13th, 2015, 12:22 PM
KatJones KatJones is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 22
Default Re: Compose Multiple Output of non-fixed quantities

Good afternoon.

I need to do exactly what the original posted asked however, when I go to my output its only a one record PDF titled as the last record field name I designated in the rule. I have a data file 496,101 records with 104 different "chunks" so in theory I should have 104 different pdfs all with different quantities and titled with corresponding "chunk" name.

Im thinking it maybe a glitch or something, but I figured I would ask here before I head to support.
__________________
FP 9.1.0 Producer, Windows Server 2008 R2, Acrobat 10.1.9
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old May 13th, 2015, 12:36 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,305
Default Re: Compose Multiple Output of non-fixed quantities

Quote:
Originally Posted by KatJones View Post
I need to do exactly what the original posted asked however, when I go to my output its only a one record PDF titled as the last record field name I designated in the rule. I have a data file 496,101 records with 104 different "chunks" so in theory I should have 104 different pdfs all with different quantities and titled with corresponding "chunk" name.
Are you sure that only one output file is being produced? What does the log file say? When you say you "go to [your] output," what exactly are you doing?

Also, how are you composing? Are you composing locally in Desktop (Acrobat), or are you composing through Producer?
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old May 13th, 2015, 12:57 PM
KatJones KatJones is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 22
Default Re: Compose Multiple Output of non-fixed quantities

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Korn View Post
Are you sure that only one output file is being produced? What does the log file say? When you say you "go to [your] output," what exactly are you doing?

Also, how are you composing? Are you composing locally in Desktop (Acrobat), or are you composing through Producer?
I am using the producer, but I see what you are saying. I am getting an error message that the other files cannot being copied over to the FusionPro_Output folder. However when I go to the FusionPro_Working folder they are all there.

Not sure how to fix the error at this moment, and that is a task for another day. But thank you.
__________________
FP 9.1.0 Producer, Windows Server 2008 R2, Acrobat 10.1.9
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old May 13th, 2015, 04:21 PM
ThomasLewis's Avatar
ThomasLewis ThomasLewis is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 206
Default Re: Compose Multiple Output of non-fixed quantities

You mean like this? http://forums.pti.com/showthread.php?t=3163

That drove me insane for a very very long time. Somewhere around 9.2/9.3 it got fixed. You might check to make sure you are on the latest version on the server.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old May 14th, 2015, 09:36 AM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,305
Default Re: Compose Multiple Output of non-fixed quantities

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThomasLewis View Post
You mean like this? http://forums.pti.com/showthread.php?t=3163

That drove me insane for a very very long time. Somewhere around 9.2/9.3 it got fixed. You might check to make sure you are on the latest version on the server.
Yes, in fact, this was fixed in version 9.3.7.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
compose, multiple output, vdp

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.