Datamatrix 2D Barcode

dmsawyer

I am new to Fusion Pro and have not successfully created a Data Matrix Barcode using Fusion Pro. I don't know JS.

Last week some of the codes did not read correctly, most did, during our mailing process. I need more information on how to create a rule for generating this code. I found in Building Blocks, Functions, MakedataMatrixBarcode, "MakeDataMatrixBarcode(DataToEncode, ProcessTilde, EncodingMode, PreferredFormat, PointSize, NoFontTag, Font));" but I am unsure what information needs to be inserted in the code.

I have watched the "Creating a 2D Barcode" section of the Advanced Features video tutorial but in that tutorial they do not create a Datamatrix 2D Barcode, they create a PDF417 barcode and I can not get the method to work for the Datamatrix code.

Any help with this issue would be greatly appreciated.

I am using FP Desktop 6.0.6.0

Windows XP

Acrobat 8.0 Professional

All of the parameters to the MakeDataMatrixBarcode function (except, of course, the barcode data in the first parameter) are optional. So, in the simplest case, you can just write the rule like so (with the name of the data field you're using):

return MakeDataMatrixBarcode(Field("YourDataFieldName"));

You only need to specify the other parameters if you want to override the defaults. In that case, I would use the DataMatrixBarcode object instead so that you can explicitly set whatever property you want. So the simple case becomes:

var barcodeObj = new DataMatrixBarcode;
return barcodeObj.Make(Field("YourDataFieldName"));

And you can override whatever defaults to need to, like so:

var barcodeObj = new DataMatrixBarcode;
barcodeObj.pointSize = 4;
barcodeObj.encodingMode = "BASE256";
barcodeObj.preferredFormat = 7;
// etc.
return barcodeObj.Make(Field("YourDataFieldName"));

To see what all the options are, and their default values, look in the Building Blocks dialog, JS Language tab, Objects, DataMatrixBarcode.