Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Software-Related Talk > FusionPro® VDP Creator

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old August 31st, 2022, 08:23 AM
HPIvt HPIvt is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Vermont
Posts: 24
Default Re: Help needed if there is a way to have variable check boxes

Thanks Dan, Id be glad to share the job files if you'd want to take a stab at it, It would be an InDesign file or pdf and an excel sheet with the data.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old September 1st, 2022, 03:28 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,694
Default Re: Help needed if there is a way to have variable check boxes

Quote:
Originally Posted by HPIvt View Post
Thanks Dan, Id be glad to share the job files if you'd want to take a stab at it, It would be an InDesign file or pdf and an excel sheet with the data.
I think I've suggested pretty strongly, in this thread and others, that it's almost always better to post the job files, as that makes it much easier for me, or anyone else who's trying to help, rather than just looking at the job through a keyhole.

The collected PDF template is usually the best way to share the job. You can just do a Collect from the FusionPro menu in Acrobat and collect to a Zip file. This will bring in the data file. (You don't need to collect the fonts, unless the issue is specific to the fonts in the job, and they're really used only in Server and Producer compositions anyway. In this case, I already have the fonts I suggested, so I don't need yours.)

Though as my signature notes, I make no promises about looking at any files. Others can feel free to look at them, though, and answer any questions. (In this case, it's pretty likely that I'll at least take a peek.)

Of course, please do not post any personal or proprietary data. You can always mock up some dummy data, just enough to be able to compose or preview the job to reproduce whatever the issue is that you want looked at.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old December 15th, 2022, 11:46 AM
HPIvt HPIvt is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Vermont
Posts: 24
Default Re: Help needed if there is a way to have variable check boxes

I have been trying and still no luck, I didn't even see that your last reply had gone to a page 2 of the thread, I'd be glad to post the files if you or anyone else wants to take a stab at it.

Just to recap, this is a reply card, the data file has three years of $ giving, some people have none, so the goal is to have an unchecked box of there is no $ value, if there is a dollar value of any amount, the box should be checked.

Many thanks in advance!

EDIT by Dan Korn: Attachment deleted as it contained personal data.

Last edited by Dan Korn; December 15th, 2022 at 02:37 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old December 15th, 2022, 02:27 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,694
Default Re: Help needed if there is a way to have variable check boxes

Quote:
Originally Posted by HPIvt View Post
I have been trying and still no luck, I didn't even see that your last reply had gone to a page 2 of the thread, I'd be glad to post the files if you or anyone else wants to take a stab at it.
Thanks, having the files makes it a lot easier to help. Although, you should post some dummied-up data instead of actual people's personal information. (I had to delete your attachment for security reasons.)
Quote:
Originally Posted by HPIvt View Post
Just to recap, this is a reply card, the data file has three years of $ giving, some people have none, so the goal is to have an unchecked box of there is no $ value, if there is a dollar value of any amount, the box should be checked.
Sure. You can do what I mentioned in my previous post, and create a set of Drag-and-Drop rules, without any JavaScript. See the attached template where I've done that.
Of course, this can be done with just a few lines of code instead, if you prefer.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf REPLY test 1.pdf (987.6 KB, 2 views)
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});

Last edited by Dan Korn; December 15th, 2022 at 02:38 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old December 15th, 2022, 02:47 PM
HPIvt HPIvt is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Vermont
Posts: 24
Default Re: Help needed if there is a way to have variable check boxes

Hey Dan, sorry I thought I had removed the personal data, I uploaded the wrong one, this file has just the dolor amounts listed, no addresses or names. Again sorry about that!
Attached Files
File Type: zip data file.zip (10.4 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old December 28th, 2022, 01:06 PM
HPIvt HPIvt is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Vermont
Posts: 24
Default way to have variable check boxes

Hi Dan, posting a new zip file. Same idea just another client who has 6 levels to create check boxes for.

I used the rules you had set up for the previous one. All works now yet I can't get the dollar signs to produce when linked to the XLS file. This is perfect except for that. If I switched to a csv file instead, it will make dollar signs, but the boxes seemed to stay all the unchecked version.

Would love to use this as is if I could make the dollar signs visible.

Last time when I did check boxes manually I had used the number to currency rule to do this, but since we have a rule to return the graphic based on the amount column itself, ice t possible to apply 2 rules to the same field? Sorry if this is getting too complex, just that automation is the key here. Let me know your thoughts. Thanks.
Attached Files
File Type: zip test2.zip (1.91 MB, 3 views)
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old December 28th, 2022, 06:55 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,694
Default Re: way to have variable check boxes

Quote:
Originally Posted by HPIvt View Post
Last time when I did check boxes manually I had used the number to currency rule to do this, but since we have a rule to return the graphic based on the amount column itself, ice t possible to apply 2 rules to the same field? Sorry if this is getting too complex, just that automation is the key here. Let me know your thoughts. Thanks.
Sure, you can apply as many rules as you want. You're on the right track. You've created the rule "Number to Currency Rule: _2017GIFTS". You just need to actually call out that rule in the text frame instead of just the field. Then you can create a similar rule for each of the other fields and apply them in their frames.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old December 29th, 2022, 11:21 AM
HPIvt HPIvt is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Vermont
Posts: 24
Default Re: Help needed if there is a way to have variable check boxes

Feel silly asking this but what do you mean by call out that rule in the text frame instead of just the field. Not like this right? When I did this it made a dollar sign in ones that need to be empty.
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2022-12-29 at 12.31.53 PM.png (39.9 KB, 5 views)
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old January 5th, 2023, 11:59 AM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,694
Default Re: Help needed if there is a way to have variable check boxes

Quote:
Originally Posted by HPIvt View Post
Feel silly asking this but what do you mean by call out that rule in the text frame instead of just the field. Not like this right?
Well, it's very hard to see that low-resolution picture, but Yes, I mean, in the Variable Text Editor dialog, instead of selecting the name of the field in the Variable drop-down, select the name of the rule and insert that into the text.
Quote:
Originally Posted by HPIvt View Post
When I did this it made a dollar sign in ones that need to be empty.
Right, that rule doesn't do exactly what you want in this circumstance, so you'll need a custom rule, like so:
Code:
var val = StringToNumber(Field("_2017GIFTS"));
if (!val)
    return "";

return FormatNumber("$#,###.##", val);
Make a version of that for each of the years, and insert those rules into the appropriate text boxes.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old January 5th, 2023, 02:18 PM
HPIvt HPIvt is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Vermont
Posts: 24
Default Re: Help needed if there is a way to have variable check boxes

Thanks Dan, just getting back into the swing of things after the holidays. I will take a stab at this, thanks again for your insight and help. Lao the low resolution image was because there seems to be a file size limitation which is quite low for images, I had to keep making it smaller and smaller for it to take the attachment.


- Ben
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.