Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Software-Related Talk > The JavaScript Library

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 19th, 2018, 01:37 PM
rrdwitt rrdwitt is offline
Regular Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Missouri
Posts: 53
Default Multi line records

I have a project and need to use the FusionPro.GetMultiLineRecords command.
But I am not sure of the exact logic. I am putting a name, address, zip, etc..
in a 12 up label. The reason I am doing this is to have different size gutters. Fusion imposer will not do different sized gutters.

But what I need is, all 12 labels on one page. Same format over and over but need the next record in the next address on the same page. But in a different position. Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 20th, 2018, 01:31 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,694
Default Re: Multi line records

I don't think this is a good use case for multi-line records. I think it's just a regular 12-up imposed job. But it's hard to visualize what you're trying to do. Can you post a mock-up of the data and what you want the corresponding output to look like?

Also, can you please explain what you mean by "different sized gutters?" Are the labels not all the same size? Because all pages have to be the same size in imposed output. Maybe you can just set the contents of the page to be in a frame that's set to center alignment, both horizontally and vertically?
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 21st, 2018, 03:12 PM
rrdwitt rrdwitt is offline
Regular Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Missouri
Posts: 53
Default Re: Multi line records

Thanks Dan. Please see attached PDF. Hopefully it will help.

thanks again
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Multi example.pdf (402.9 KB, 13 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 22nd, 2018, 11:27 AM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,694
Default Re: Multi line records

This can be done with FP Imposer, without using multi-line records. You need to right-click on the imposition and select "Discard Space and Bleed" as appropriate. Please see the attached example template and output.
Attached Files
File Type: zip imposition-different-gutters-example.zip (133.1 KB, 10 views)
File Type: pdf imposition-different-gutters-example-output.pdf (21.7 KB, 14 views)
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 22nd, 2018, 12:46 PM
rrdwitt rrdwitt is offline
Regular Contributor
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Missouri
Posts: 53
Default Re: Multi line records

Thank you Dan!! You absolutely crushed it!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.