Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Software-Related Talk > The JavaScript Library > Dates

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 28th, 2016, 09:03 AM
-Lisa- -Lisa- is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 190
Default Including Ordinal when Formatting Date

Can the FormatDate function be used to include ordinals (i.e. "th", "st", etc.)?
__________________
Lisa B.
FusionPro VDP Creator 10.0.16
Adobe Acrobat Pro DC 2018
Mac OS X 10.13.6 (High Sierra)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 28th, 2016, 11:04 AM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,693
Default Re: Including Ordinal when Formatting Date

No, but if you search the web for "JavaScript ordinals", you'll find lots of functions to do that, such as this one:
Code:
function getOrdinal(n)
{
    var s = ["th","st","nd","rd"];
    var v = n % 100;
    return s[(v-20)%10] || s[v] || s[0];
}
You can use it in a rule like this:
Code:
var theDate = Today();
var dayOfMonth = theDate.getDate();
var dayWithOrdinal = getOrdinal(dayOfMonth);
return FormatDate(theDate, "EE, MMM d") + dayWithOrdinal + FormatDate(theDate, ", yyyy");
Adding this functionality to FormatDate wouldn't be a bad enhancement idea for FusionPro, although such ordinals are obviously specific to English, and not all of our users, and certainly not all output files, are English-based. Different languages do ordinals much differently:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ordinal_indicator
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});

Last edited by Dan Korn; March 28th, 2016 at 11:13 AM.. Reason: Added note about ordinals in other languages.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 28th, 2016, 02:04 PM
-Lisa- -Lisa- is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 190
Default Re: Including Ordinal when Formatting Date

AWESOME! Thank you, Dan! This was super helpful!!!!
__________________
Lisa B.
FusionPro VDP Creator 10.0.16
Adobe Acrobat Pro DC 2018
Mac OS X 10.13.6 (High Sierra)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.