Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Support > Issues, Questions, Etc.

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old December 10th, 2015, 02:56 PM
Kal's Avatar
Kal Kal is offline
Regular Contributor
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 56
Default Suppress empty lines in Table

Hi, I need to suppress lines when empty in a table and don't know what I need to add for it to work. See sample table rule.
------------------------------------------------

new FPTable;
var myTable = new FPTable;
myTable.AddColumns(36000, 14400);
myTable.AddRows(5);


//Line1
myTable.Rows[0].Cells[0].Content = "Account Line";
myTable.Rows[0].Cells[1].Content = Field("PD_PRINCIPAL1");

//Line2
myTable.Rows[1].Cells[0].Content = Field("PD_TOTAL3");
myTable.Rows[1].Cells[1].Content = Field("PD_PRINCIPAL3");

//Line3
myTable.Rows[2].Cells[0].Content = Field("PD_TOTAL2");
myTable.Rows[2].Cells[1].Content = Field("PD_PRINCIPAL2");


return myTable.MakeTags();



__________________
Kal Bedi
FusionPro Desktop 10.1.9
Adobe Acrobat Pro DC
Mac OS Sierra 10.12.5
Canada
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old December 10th, 2015, 03:22 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,694
Default Re: Suppress empty lines in Table

I think it's better to think less in terms of suppressing empty rows (lines), and more in terms of adding rows only when they have content, like so:
Code:
var myTable = new FPTable;
myTable.AddColumns(36000, 14400);

//Line1
var myRow = myTable.AddRow();
myRow.Cells[0].Content = "Account Line";
myRow.Cells[1].Content = Field("PD_PRINCIPAL1");
        
//Line2
if (Field("PD_TOTAL3") && Field("PD_PRINCIPAL3"))
{
    var myRow = myTable.AddRow();
    myRow.Cells[0].Content = Field("PD_TOTAL3");
    myRow.Cells[1].Content = Field("PD_PRINCIPAL3");
}

//Line3
if (Field("PD_TOTAL2") && Field("PD_PRINCIPAL2"))
{
    var myRow = myTable.AddRow();
    myRow.Cells[0].Content = Field("PD_TOTAL2");
    myRow.Cells[1].Content = Field("PD_PRINCIPAL2");
}

return myTable.MakeTags();
Or somewhat more succinctly:
Code:
var myTable = new FPTable;
myTable.AddColumns(36000, 14400);

//Line1
myTable.AddRow().SetContents( "Account Line", Field("PD_PRINCIPAL1"));
        
//Line2
if (Field("PD_TOTAL3") && Field("PD_PRINCIPAL3"))
    myTable.AddRow().SetContents(Field("PD_TOTAL3"), Field("PD_PRINCIPAL3"));

//Line3
if (Field("PD_TOTAL2") && Field("PD_PRINCIPAL2"))
    myTable.AddRow().SetContents(Field("PD_TOTAL2"),  Field("PD_PRINCIPAL2"));

return myTable.MakeTags();
Or, more generally:
Code:
var myTable = new FPTable;
myTable.AddColumns(36000, 14400);

for (var i = 1; i <= 3; i++)
{
    var cell0Content = i == 1 ? "Account Line" : Field("PD_TOTAL" + i);
    var cell1Content = Field("PD_PRINCIPAL" + i);

    if (cell0Content && cell1Content)
        myTable.AddRow().SetContents(cell0Content, cell1Content);
}

return myTable.MakeTags();
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old December 10th, 2015, 03:39 PM
Kal's Avatar
Kal Kal is offline
Regular Contributor
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 56
Default Re: Suppress empty lines in Table

Thank you Dan.
You just made my day.
__________________
Kal Bedi
FusionPro Desktop 10.1.9
Adobe Acrobat Pro DC
Mac OS Sierra 10.12.5
Canada
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old December 10th, 2015, 05:01 PM
Kal's Avatar
Kal Kal is offline
Regular Contributor
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 56
Default Re: Suppress empty lines in Table

Is there a way to make the top line like 7inch long without effecting then lines below?
-----
var myTable = new FPTable;
myTable.AddColumns(36000, 14400);

//Line0
var myRow = myTable.AddRow();
myRow.Cells[0].Content = "Account Info Area1";
myTable.Rows[0].Cells[0].TextColor="White";
myTable.Rows[0].Cells[0].ShadeColor="Black";
myTable.Rows[0].Cells[0].ShadePct=50;

//Line1
var myRow = myTable.AddRow();
myRow.Cells[0].Content = "Account Line";
myRow.Cells[1].Content = Field("PD_PRINCIPAL1");

//Line2
if (Field("PD_TOTAL3") && Field("PD_PRINCIPAL3"))
{
var myRow = myTable.AddRow();
myRow.Cells[0].Content = Field("PD_TOTAL3");
myRow.Cells[1].Content = Field("PD_PRINCIPAL3");
}

//Line3
if (Field("PD_TOTAL2") && Field("PD_PRINCIPAL2"))
{
var myRow = myTable.AddRow();
myRow.Cells[0].Content = Field("PD_TOTAL2");
myRow.Cells[1].Content = Field("PD_PRINCIPAL2");
}

return myTable.MakeTags();
__________________
Kal Bedi
FusionPro Desktop 10.1.9
Adobe Acrobat Pro DC
Mac OS Sierra 10.12.5
Canada
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old December 10th, 2015, 05:25 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,694
Default Re: Suppress empty lines in Table

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal View Post
Is there a way to make the top line like 7inch long without effecting then lines below?
Sure, just make that top line into a completely separate single-row table.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old December 10th, 2015, 05:38 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,694
Default Re: Suppress empty lines in Table

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Korn View Post
Sure, just make that top line into a completely separate single-row table.
Or, add another column, and only set its contents and shading and such in the first row.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.