Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Software-Related Talk > The JavaScript Library > Formatting Text

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old March 4th, 2015, 04:22 PM
oleooo oleooo is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 30
Default Replace an A with a round A

How can I replace an a character with a rounded a character.

I attempted to use Indesigns character styles but it did not work.

the code I tried was <p style="name'>+(Field("name"));

Any help would be helpful.

Thnaks
Ole
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old March 4th, 2015, 05:47 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,408
Default Re: Replace an A with a round A

What do you mean by a "rounded a character?" A picture might be worth a thousand words here.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 4th, 2015, 07:48 PM
oleooo oleooo is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 30
Default Re: Replace an A with a round A

I am trying to replace an a with the alternative a. in the attachment i want pdf 1 to be pdf 2. I just am missing the proper code.

Thanks
Ole
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Untitled-1.pdf (69.5 KB, 9 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 5th, 2015, 10:36 AM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,408
Default Re: Replace an A with a round A

Okay, thanks. Copying the text from the PDF and examining it, I see that the "rounded a" in the second PDF is just the regular old lowercase A character (ASCII 97). It's the one in the first PDF that's an "alternative" Unicode character.

So I don't think you need to do anything special at all in FusionPro to get the regular lowercase A as in your second example. Are you getting the first output from FusionPro? If so, please collect up and attach the job.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 5th, 2015, 01:58 PM
oleooo oleooo is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 30
Default Re: Replace an A with a round A

I am getting the first page output from Fusion pro. I have attached the collected template.

Thanks
Ole
Attached Files
File Type: zip MJA_BC_template-for-vendor_Mar-05-2015_12-38-30.zip (2.50 MB, 4 views)

Last edited by oleooo; March 5th, 2015 at 02:00 PM.. Reason: did not upload zip
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 5th, 2015, 07:21 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,408
Default Re: Replace an A with a round A

InDesign allows access to alternate glyphs, for things like "old style" numbers, as well as for alternative representations of certain characters. This isn't part of a character style in InDesign, it's actually a method where you specify a glyph from a font directly, to override the font's primary representation (glyph) of a character.

However, that kind of direct glyph selection is unique to InDesign. In FusionPro, and most other applications, you can only specify a Unicode code point, which maps to a single glyph in the font (via the font's Unicode cmap). In this case, it's simply the Unicode (and ASCII) character 97, which is lower-case A, and FusionPro uses the font's primary glyph for that character.

But I'm not sure how such direct glyph selection would work in a VDP job anyway, since, in InDesign, you have to select a specific glyph directly, for each character, in static text. In your FusionPro VDP job, the text is obviously variable, so there's no way to select the exact text for each record and pick alternate glyphs. (Even if you were using something like XMPie, which is built on top of InDesign's typesetting and rendering engine, I don't think you can select alternate glyphs for variable text.)

If the font offers the alternate glyph from a unique code point, such as in the private use area, then you can call out that code point. But the specific font you're using doesn't seem to make the glyph available that way. So there's really no way to do what you want with this font; you need to either select a different font, or modify the font (actually each OTF or TTF file in the family) to assign a specific Unicode code point for the glyph you need. Or modify the font to replace the glyph mapped to by code point 97 with the one you want.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});

Last edited by Dan Korn; March 5th, 2015 at 07:25 PM.. Reason: note about XMPie
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old March 5th, 2015, 09:26 PM
oleooo oleooo is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 30
Default Re: Replace an A with a round A

Dan,

Thanks
For checking this out for me. I was at my wits end trying to figure out how to modify the template. I will see if I can modify the font with permission of course. Your expert knowledge is always impressive.

Thanks again
Ole
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.