Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Software-Related Talk > FusionPro® VDP Producer (formerly FusionPro® Direct)

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 16th, 2016, 12:15 PM
Ryan_B Ryan_B is offline
Regular Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 70
Default Apply copyfit to only one line in a text frame

Is there a way to apply copyfit to only one line in a text frame?

I'm working on a business card that has your standard variables. If one of the fields, say title, exceeds the width of the text frame, I want to shrink just that line. I'm not sure if this is possible or not.
If every field was required, I'd simply draw individual text frames and put copyfit on each of them individually. Since this is not the case however, if a field were to be omitted, I'd have to dynamically move the other frames to emulate suppression. This will obviously involve a lot of extra rules needing to be created. It wouldn't be a huge deal if it were just this one business card, but the client has several (20 or so) different cards all with different layouts.
Anyone have any ideas?
__________________
Ryan Boever
FusionPro VDP Designer 9.3.36
Adobe Acrobat XI 11.0.07
Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 16th, 2016, 12:42 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,478
Default Re: Apply copyfit to only one line in a text frame

Use the CopyfitLine function. Search this forum for examples.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 16th, 2016, 03:03 PM
Ryan_B Ryan_B is offline
Regular Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 70
Default Re: Apply copyfit to only one line in a text frame

Thanks Dan. Do you know of a way to incorporate the "Do not break on copyfit" functionality?
__________________
Ryan Boever
FusionPro VDP Designer 9.3.36
Adobe Acrobat XI 11.0.07
Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 16th, 2016, 04:56 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,478
Default Re: Apply copyfit to only one line in a text frame

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan_B View Post
Thanks Dan. Do you know of a way to incorporate the "Do not break on copyfit" functionality?
I don't understand what you're asking. The "Do not break on copyfit" check box (on the Paragraph Formatting dialog) has no effect unless full-flow copyfitting is in use. It doesn't affect a line that you're already forcing to not break with the CopyfitLine function.

In a given flow, you should either use full-flow copyfitting (by clicking the "Adjust text to fit" button on the Overflow Options dialog) OR you should use the CopyfitLine function on individual lines. You shouldn't do both in the same flow.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old February 18th, 2016, 07:02 AM
jwhittaker jwhittaker is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 161
Default Re: Apply copyfit to only one line in a text frame

return CopyfitLine("", Field("Name"), "Adobe Garamond Pro", 20, 137, 6, false);

The parameters to CopyfitLine, in order, are:
• staticPart - text to not be resized
• dynamicPart - text to be resized (after staticPart)
• font - font family name
• size - base point size (in points)
• width - width of the frame or column (in hundredths of points)
• minimum - minimum point size (in points)
• adjustWidthOnly - true/false (optional - see below)
For the "adjustWidthOnly" parameter, if you leave it off (or specify false), the function will adjust the point size, that is, both the width and height, of the glyphs. If you specify true, the function will adjust only the set width of the glyphs, but not the height, which basically means they will look squished horizontally.
__________________
FusionPro VDP Creator 10.0.26 | MacOS 10.13.4 | Acrobat DC
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.