Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Support > Fonts

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old January 26th, 2009, 12:36 PM
Doug Pershing's Avatar
Doug Pershing Doug Pershing is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 37
Default Ligatures

How can I use ligature characters in FusionPro?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 23rd, 2009, 02:07 PM
takora takora is offline
Forum n00b
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Default Re: Ligatures

I'd like to know this, too. Is there any way to include ligature characters in the variable text? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old February 23rd, 2009, 02:56 PM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,382
Default Re: Ligatures

If you're talking about these kinds of things:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ligature_(typography)
They're just glyphs in a font like any other "letter."

If the ligature you want is in the ASCII range, such as "Ć" (not sure if that will show up on all browsers), then you can use one of the standard named entities in entity.def (or entity.mac.def) such as "Æ" in tagged markup. These entities are listed in the FusionPro Tags Reference Guide. You can also type such a character directly into the Variable Text Editor (see below) in any version of FusionPro.

Of course, many of the "precomposed" ligatures are in the Unicode (non-ASCII, or 16-bit) range:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of...code#Ligatures
So, you would need to use FusionPro 5.8 or later to use them in either the Variable Text Editor or in a composition.

You should be able to type (or copy-and-paste) such characters directly into the Variable Text Editor. On Windows, you can use the Character Map (Start -> Run -> charmap) to access extended Unicode characters, or use the appropriate Alt+number key combination. On Mac, you can use the Character Palette. (In OS X 10.5 [Leopard], go to System Preferences -> International -> Input Menu, click "Show input menu in menu bar", then you get a nice patriotic flag on your menu bar with a "Show Character Palette" option, from which you can insert any character directly into the Variable Text Editor. And I have to say that supporting this, along with Unicode input sources, was something for which we did a lot of work in FusionPro 5.8 for Mac.)

Also in FusionPro 5.8 or later, in addition to the standard named ASCII entities, you can use numeric Unicode entities in tagged markup , such as "ɐ or "ɐ"
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});

Last edited by Dan Korn; February 23rd, 2009 at 03:02 PM.. Reason: fixed hyperlink
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old February 28th, 2009, 04:30 PM
Doug Pershing's Avatar
Doug Pershing Doug Pershing is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 37
Default Re: Ligatures

I need to use characters that do not have alt characters, such as the 'fi' ligature. I have tried the decimal entry as & # 64257; (spaces added so this editor will not parse). This doesn't work. The unicode value is U+FB01. How can I use this character and other ones that do not have alt numbers?

Last edited by Doug Pershing; February 28th, 2009 at 04:32 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 2nd, 2009, 10:26 AM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,382
Default Re: Ligatures

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug Pershing View Post
I need to use characters that do not have alt characters, such as the 'fi' ligature. I have tried the decimal entry as & # 64257; (spaces added so this editor will not parse). This doesn't work. The unicode value is U+FB01. How can I use this character and other ones that do not have alt numbers?
First of all, the answer to your question depends on your operating system and the version of FusionPro you're using. You need to be using FusionPro 5.8 or newer to handle Unicode (double-byte, i.e. 16-bit, i.e. > 255 or 0xFF) characters. There's no way to use such characters, either in the Variable Text Editor or in a composition, in FusionPro 5.1 or earlier. However, if you are using a Unicode-capable version of FusionPro, any 16-bit Unicode character should be accessible, although not all fonts will contain glyphs for all characters.

I'm not sure what you mean by "characters that do not have alt characters." On Windows, if I'm using a Unicode-aware application, I can hold down the Alt key and type 64257 on the numeric keypad (NOT on the number keys above the QWERTY letters), and the "fi" ligature shows up, at least in most fonts. This works for any Unicode character. It definitely works for me in the Variable Text Editor in FusionPro 6.0 with in the "Arial Unicode MS" font. Keep in mind that some fonts may show a different glyph at this code point, or may not include it at all.

On Windows, the Character Map (Start -> Run -> charmap) utility will show you any glyph for any Unicode character in any installed font. If you check the "Advanced view" box, you can enter a hexadecimal code in the "Go to Unicode" box. If you enter "FB01", it shows the "fi" ligature. (Yes, the Character Map wants hexadecimal and the Alt key combinations want decimal, at least on Windows XP; you can take up that issue with Microsoft.) You can also type "latin small ligature fi" (the full Unicode name of the character) in the "Search for" box to find it.

Back to FusionPro, in tagged markup, you can use either "fi" or "fi" to output the "fi" ligature. Again, you have to be using FusionPro 5.8 or newer, and you have to be outputting text in a font which supports Unicode and has a glyph at that particular code point. (Also, if the job was created in an older version of FusionPro, you may need to go to the Advanced tab of the Composition Settings dialog and uncheck the "Limit processing to Latin-1 text" box.) If you think you're meeting these criteria and you're still not getting the character in your output, then check your log (.msg) file for any relevant messages.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 3rd, 2009, 07:48 AM
Doug Pershing's Avatar
Doug Pershing Doug Pershing is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 37
Default Re: Ligatures

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Korn View Post
(Also, if the job was created in an older version of FusionPro, you may need to go to the Advanced tab of the Composition Settings dialog and uncheck the "Limit processing to Latin-1 text" box.)
That was it. After unchecking that box both the decimal "fi" and "fi" characters work.

Thank you Dan
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old September 25th, 2015, 09:44 AM
seymoujd seymoujd is offline
Junior Community Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 40
Default Re: Ligatures

We have started using a font in Indesign Called Chartwell that lets us easily create and edit charts directly in Indesign. Here is a link to a video about it.

http://www.lynda.com/articles/indesi...chartwell-font

Basically you can type in your percentages, select your text and turn on "Discretionary Ligatures" in the Character Palette's Open Type settings. This converts your numbers to a chart. Is there a way to get Fusion Pro to respond the same way to convert numbers to graphs using this font?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old September 25th, 2015, 10:30 AM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,382
Default Re: Ligatures

Quote:
Originally Posted by seymoujd View Post
We have started using a font in Indesign Called Chartwell that lets us easily create and edit charts directly in Indesign. Here is a link to a video about it.

http://www.lynda.com/articles/indesi...chartwell-font

Basically you can type in your percentages, select your text and turn on "Discretionary Ligatures" in the Character Palette's Open Type settings. This converts your numbers to a chart. Is there a way to get Fusion Pro to respond the same way to convert numbers to graphs using this font?
Your question seems only tangentially related to the existing thread about ligatures. Please start a new thread for a new question.

That said, it seems that all that font is doing is taking particular sets of characters and representing them in particular ways. But that's really all that any font does. So I don't see offhand why that wouldn't work in FusionPro.
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.