Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Software-Related Talk > FusionPro® VDP Creator

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old September 29th, 2010, 08:45 AM
munrographics munrographics is offline
Forum n00b
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Default dynamic barcodes

My print job requires both a sequential number and a sequential barcode.

How do I do that?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 1st, 2010, 08:43 AM
rpaterick rpaterick is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 427
Default Re: dynamic barcodes

So your customer just needs to be able to scan the piece and pull up the sequential number?

I believe you just have your column numbers as follows (ex:0001)

*0001*
*0002*
*0003*
*0004*
*0005*

You can apply IDAutomationC39M font to it and should scan with basic hand-held scanners. I would scan the piece itself to ensure that it works.
__________________
Windows 7 64BIT
Intel - I7 chip - 3.33Ghz - 6GB ram
8.0 Creator/8.0 Producer/CS5.5
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 1st, 2010, 08:52 AM
munrographics munrographics is offline
Forum n00b
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: dynamic barcodes

pardon my stupidity, what are the asterisks for?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 1st, 2010, 09:04 AM
rpaterick rpaterick is offline
Senior Contributor
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 427
Default Re: dynamic barcodes

Quote:
Originally Posted by munrographics View Post
pardon my stupidity, what are the asterisks for?

I'm sure Dan can chime-in for a detailed explanation but it is used for the stop/start character in interpretation the data with Code39 barcodes.

If you just had 0001, I believe it won't translate properly from the data to the barcode scanner.

Any barcodes that we do at our shop, we always test them to ensure they work properly in-house. More complex barcodes that the client wants done(UPC labels) we go directly to the customer with it to make sure it scans properly.
__________________
Windows 7 64BIT
Intel - I7 chip - 3.33Ghz - 6GB ram
8.0 Creator/8.0 Producer/CS5.5
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.