'Offline' Programming for FP Desktop

cschendel

I am a programmer who supports a prepress person who uses FusionPro Desktop. I would like to be able to write complex scripts on my computer (which does not have FusionPro installed) for the prepress person to use.

I would like to use (at my desk) Microsoft Visual Studio or Adobe ExtendScript Toolbox (or some other software) to allow me to write JavaScript with Intellisense help --- including the FusionPro specific functions and routines.

Is there a way I can reference the libraries or assemblies of FusionPro inside of one of these external editors? -- At least to rough-in these scripts before we cut and paste them into the real app.

I know the simple answer is 'Buy another copy of FusionPro Desktop' however our company doesn't want to do that at this time.

Dan or Alex can you help me out?

-c

-c

You may want to look into FP Designer. It is a full-featured free version of FP Desktop. The only limitation is that you can only compose 1 record for output. You can do all the necessary programming and testing with Designer. Then take your template over to a full version Desktop or Server machine and run an entire file. I sometimes take work home and program on my pc, then collect the work as a .zip file and bring that back to work to use on my full versioned machine there.

The software is exactly the same for Designer, Desktop and the Server versions. The only difference is the activation key that you use when you install it. Simply contact Alex Marshall and ask for a Designer activation key.

Good Luck,

Hello,