Go Back   MarcomCentral (PTI) and FusionPro User Communities > Support > Issues, Questions, Etc.

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old June 25th, 2014, 01:17 AM
georgethomas georgethomas is offline
Forum n00b
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 7
Default with fusion pro in DSF

We have all sorts of fusion pro products in our system, such as business cards and letter heads, but now we are trying to see what else the software can do. For example, I'm currently creating a generic demo of a smartstore and wish to have a welcome brochure for a gym, where the trainer would be the person who logs in, and creates the brochure for his/her customer.

So, on the front page where it says welcome, and then I'd like to put the customers name in, however, I can't seem to find how to do this. Also, further in, I want the trainer to be able to explain specific things and have a certain amount of characters to say to their customer who they are, but obviously you have to have a fp files text box linked to a field such as name or title, or whatever so I can't make this text editable.

I've looked at making a CSV to upload that can be updated each time a customer would join the service, however this means the trainer would have to write great paragraphs in the small excel text boxes, and create a log in for every trainers customer that they would have to log in for.

Any help or guidance much appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old June 25th, 2014, 09:30 AM
FreightTrain's Avatar
FreightTrain FreightTrain is offline
Learning Development Manager
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 326
Default Re: with fusion pro in DSF

george,
DSF can use the Define HTML Form option on the FusionPro menu. This allows you to create "Single-line" string entry fields or "Multi-line" text areas for any of the text fields in your data source. In both instances you can restrict the number of characters allowed. You may also create a "Pick List" with varying settings. FusionPro generates an HTML preview for testing, although it does not generate a proof in the preview.

Once saved and collected, FusionPro generates an XML file that you upload into DSF with the other FusionPro files, which allows for the form interaction (as previewed) to generate a proof. All that being said, I have never used DSF, I have only had the process demoed and it seems easy enough. If you have further questions about the process inside of DSF, I would check with their user forum or with EFI directly.

Hope this helps
__________________
Richard A. Lewis, Jr.
Learning Development Manager | MarcomCentral® a Ricoh Company
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old June 25th, 2014, 09:39 AM
Dan Korn's Avatar
Dan Korn Dan Korn is offline
FusionPro Senior Engineer / Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,331
Default Re: with fusion pro in DSF

You can also ask questions specific to DSF and FusionPro here:
http://dsfforums.efi.com/forumdisplay.php?3-FusionPro
__________________
Dan Korn
FusionPro Developer / JavaScript Guru / Forum Moderator
PTI Marketing Technologies | Printable | MarcomCentral
LinkedIn

I am a not a Support engineer, and this forum is not a substitute for Support. My participation on this forum is primarily as a fellow user (and a forum moderator). I am happy to provide help and answers to questions when I can; however, there is no guarantee that I, or anyone else on this forum, will be able to answer all questions or fix any problems. If I ask for files to clarify an issue, I might not be able to look at them personally. I am not able to answer private messages, emails, or phone calls unless they go through proper Support channels. Please direct any sales or pricing questions to your salesperson or inquiries@marcom.com.

Complex template-building questions, as well as all installation and font questions or problems, should be directed to FusionProSupport@marcom.com. Paid consulting work may be required to fulfill your template-building needs.

This is a publicly viewable forum. Please DO NOT post fonts, or other proprietary content, to this forum. Also, please DO NOT post any "live" data with real names, addresses, or any other personal, private, or confidential data.

Please include the specific versions of FusionPro, Acrobat, and your operating system in any problem reports or help requests. I recommend putting this information in your forum signature. Please also check your composition log (.msg) file for relevant error or warning messages.

Please post questions specific to the MarcomCentral Enterprise and Web-to-Print applications in the MarcomCentral forum. Click here to request access. Or contact your Business Relationship Manager (BRM/CPM) for assistance.

Please direct any questions specific to EFI's Digital StoreFront (DSF) to EFI support.

How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

The correct spellings are JavaScript, FusionPro, and MarcomCentral (each with two capital letters and no spaces). Acceptable abbreviations are JS, FP, and MC (or MCC). There is no "S" at the end of "Expression" or "Printable"! The name of the product is FusionPro, not "Fusion". "Java" is not is not the same as JavaScript.

Check out the JavaScript Guide and JavaScript Reference! FusionPro 8.0 and newer use JavaScript 1.7. Older versions use JavaScript 1.5.

return "KbwbTdsjqu!spdlt\"".replace(/./g,function(w){return String.fromCharCode(w.charCodeAt()-1)});
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old June 26th, 2014, 01:20 AM
georgethomas georgethomas is offline
Forum n00b
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 7
Default Re: with fusion pro in DSF

Cheers guys, I will look into that FreightTrain.

Dan, I did post this same question on that forum a couple of days prior to posting on here and had no response, so I thought I would try here as it seems alot more active.


Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old June 30th, 2014, 03:08 AM
georgethomas georgethomas is offline
Forum n00b
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 7
Default Re: with fusion pro in DSF

Any ideas how I can do a similar thing with images? I want to be able to insert an image in the fusionpro file, that the user can select from a gallery?

I've tried asking on DSF forums, but had no luck so far, I've been looking through, and I know there are rules that look like it should work, I'm just not sure how I can do it so it can link once the file is in DSF?


Cheers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dsf, editable data, fusionpro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) 2011, PTI Marketing Technologies™, Inc.