Setting Up A Bulk Mail Job

wrmaher

I am new to Fusion Pro and new to forums such as this, so please bear with me. I have a docucolor 242 with a built in fiery. I am currently printing a monthly newsletter and i want to get away from using labels. The newsletter is normally imposed on an 11 x 17 and saddlestitched thru the 242's professional finisher to 8 1/2 x 11.

For the better part of the afternoon today, I have attempted to set up using Fusion Pro. I feel as though I am getting close.

Does anyone have any experience setting up jobs such as this using a configuration such as mine? Thanks!

• 4 weeks later...

How I setup my jobs:

Usually I set up the final "blank" artwork for any first-class or standard mail job without addresses in Quark or InDesign. I export a press-ready PDF with crops & bleeds, then I'll use FusionPro Desktop to set up the address block with my fieldnames.

Had some initial problems with the PostNet & IM barcode fonts, but now that I've got that sorted out (was using some old/bad fonts), things go smoothly.

We'll take a CSV flat file export from our mail program (BCC), link up the datafile to Acrobat/FusionPro, Preview, check it, and then hit Compose.

Then: Work on something else while FusionPro composes a 10,000 page PDF file...

good luck with your rip time on that 1000 page pdf, i've had to make pdf's like that and my canon 7000 takes a good 2 hours depending on the resolution of the pdf. Try composing into a ppml file. That will have the 1000 pages and it will rip in less than 5 minutes normally. I have been having trouble with getting ppml files to bleed past the page edge. Very frustrating.....anyway, good luck with everything.